Exquisite Captive

Paperback | February 2, 2016

byHeather Demetrios

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy comes the first book in the Dark Caravan Cycle, a modern fantasy-adventure trilogy about a gorgeous, fierce eighteen-year-old jinni who is pitted against two magnetic adversaries, both of whom want her—and need her—to make their wishes come true.

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Now in hiding on the dark caravan—the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command—she’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle. Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to release Nalia from her master so she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle . . . and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online
$12.50 list price (save 11%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

For fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy comes the first book in the Dark Caravan Cycle, a modern fantasy-adventure trilogy about a gorgeous, fierce eighteen-year-old jinni who is pitted against two magnetic adversaries, both of whom want her—and need her—to make their wishes come ...

When Heather Demetrios isn't traipsing around the world or spending time in imaginary places, she lives with her husband in New York City. Originally from Los Angeles, she now calls the East Coast home. Heather received her MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and is a recipient of the PEN New ...

other books by Heather Demetrios

I'll Meet You There
I'll Meet You There

Paperback|Jun 28 2016

$11.51 online$15.99list price(save 28%)
Bad Romance
Bad Romance

Hardcover|Jun 13 2017

$22.28 online$24.99list price(save 10%)
Freedom's Slave
Freedom's Slave

Hardcover|Feb 28 2017

$19.56 online$21.99list price(save 11%)
see all books by Heather Demetrios
Format:PaperbackDimensions:496 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.12 inPublished:February 2, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062318578

ISBN - 13:9780062318572

Customer Reviews of Exquisite Captive

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Demetrios crafts a refreshingly diverse story with nods to Arabian culture in this lengthy blend of traditional jinni lore and urban fantasy elements.”