FallGently by Kenneth William BuddFallGently by Kenneth William Budd


byKenneth William BuddEditorRobert David Marthaller

Paperback | May 31, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 80 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores


FallGently, the second book in The Adventures of Buddy Williams series, continues to chronicle a year in the life of an eleven year-old boy on the Prairies in the early fifties. The first book, SummerWild, which sets the stage for readers, was not only well-received by its Young Adult target audience, but also found bonus enthusiasts in older folk who enjoyed reminiscing about their own childhood. FallGently opens the door for the remaining two novels: WinterFree and SpringRush.<_o3a_p>


            Returning to Buffalo Crossing after summer holidays at the lake, FallGently picks up where SummerWild leaves off, and sees Buddy Williams and his two cohorts, Riel and Mokey, encounter a rude awakening at school. Their new teacher, Miss Ruby, turns out to be more she-devil than educator, and Buddy is not sure if Mr. “Army” Armitage, the school principal, is friend or foe. Adding to Buddy’s woes are two school bullies from the past who re-appear to make life miserable for him and his friends.

            Of course, despite all this, the three lads still find time for the same unique brand of adventure that characterized their lakeside summer—this time with a fall twist. But, eventually Buddy’s greatest challenge ever comes to overshadow their exploits, testing him like nothing before and shaking him to his very core.

            FallGently offers insight into the importance of positive mentors and educators, and reminds us that life is not always fair. Even the strongest are sometimes forced to face adversity and question their ability to cope with staggering loss.

Title:FallGentlyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:9 × 6 × 0.68 inPublished:May 31, 2012Publisher:SummerWild ProductionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:098119334X

ISBN - 13:9780981193342


Rated 5 out of 5 by from As expected, the second installment in the series was as vivid and satisfying as the first! My anticipation for the second book in Kenneth William Budd's four-book series was finally satisfied! Budd has an exceptional ability to create the most vivid of stories without being wordy or overly-descriptive. The adventures, trials and tribulations that the story's young protagonist experiences are those that readers of all generations can relate to regardless of whether they've ever stepped foot in the prairies. I'd love to rave some more about the author and the second installment in "The Adventures of Buddy Williams" but I must use this time to jump right into Book III, WinterFree.
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful, delicious, thought provoking, heart wrenching! After a glorious summer at the lake it's back to reality for Buddy Williams. School looms on the horizon bringing with it some new challenges to overcome. Although Buddy doesn't always get things right on the first try, his heart is in the right place. In this delightful, yet heart wrenching sequel to SummerWild, we are faced with some home truths - life isn't always a bowl of cherries, sometimes it's the pits. Buddy experiences highs like he's never had before and lows like no one should ever have to. Mr. Budd once again takes us on a wild ride of emotion as Buddy works through this difficulties with a heart totally focused on being and becoming a good man. Delightful, delicious, thought provoking and heart wrenching. An excellent read for anyone who loves a good story.
Date published: 2012-09-09