Fans Of The Impossible Life

Hardcover | September 8, 2015

byKate Scelsa

not yet rated|write a review

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.94 online
$21.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time...

From the Jacket

Ten months after her recurring depression landed her in the hospital, Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a normal functioning human this time, not a girl who sometimes can't get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she's with S...

Kate Scelsa studied writing and theater at Sarah Lawrence College. For the past twelve years she has performed in New York and on tour around the world with experimental theater company Elevator Repair Service in their trilogy of works based on great American literature, including an eight-hour-long performance that uses the entire tex...

other books by Kate Scelsa

Fans Of The Impossible Life
Fans Of The Impossible Life

Paperback|Apr 18 2017

$12.50

Fans de la vie impossible
Fans de la vie impossible

Kobo ebook|Feb 25 2016

$19.99

Fãs do impossível
Fãs do impossível

Kobo ebook|Aug 26 2016

$7.79 online$10.06list price(save 22%)
see all books by Kate Scelsa
Format:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:September 8, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062331752

ISBN - 13:9780062331755

Customer Reviews of Fans Of The Impossible Life

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refreshing Going into this book I wasn't really sure what to expect but it turned out really interesting and different from the usual teen books which I really enjoyed.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Mira is starting over. Jeremy is discovering who he is. Sebby’s just trying to get by. Mira and Sebby have been friends for years and Jeremy is finding out just how perfectly he fits with them. Told in three different POVs, follow the three friends as they navigate high school, life, and relationships. This is one of those kinds of books I find hard to review because it feels like anything could be a potential give-away and there were so many parts I liked while also being a lot of parts that didn’t work for me. To start, I really liked the premise. These characters sounded really complex and like they would have interesting relationships with each other. Also that there was a huge opportunity to get my heart broken. All that ended up being true. They were teenagers trying to handle the rough circumstances life had thrown at them, sometimes with help but sometimes alone, and I thought it was pretty realistic. There were times I wanted to cheer the adults in these kids’ lives, and other times I wanted to scream at them to pay attention. I also liked that each main character had their own problems they had to deal with or overcome for growth. There were times when the friendship between them didn’t feel completely healthy, but it always felt necessary. These three needed each other. The different styles for the POVs threw me off every time it switched characters. Each character had a different tense for the POV so with each switch, there wasn’t a flowing feeling into the next. It kept me from getting completely drawn into the story. Other than the POV issue, I did enjoy the writing. I don’t want to say too much more because I don’t want to give anything away. Overall, the characters were great and the story was good but the POV switching made it hard to read and fully enjoy. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-10-13

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Rounded characters large and small, drawn with insight and empathy, drive the plot. Buoyant writing and wry humor balance the pathos in this powerful debut, a moving tale of friendship as refuge and shield against a hostile world.”