Finding Paris

Hardcover | April 21, 2015

byJoy Preble

not yet rated|write a review

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max's offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.04 online
$21.99 list price (save 27%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings h...

From the Jacket

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford...

Joy Preble is a Texas girl who grew up in Chicago and a former high school teacher who now writes full-time, which means she gets paid for making up stuff. No one has ever left her mysterious notes. She is, however, a fan of cross-country road trips. Joy is also the author of the Dreaming Anastasia series and the Sweet Dead Life series...

other books by Joy Preble

It Wasn't Always Like This
It Wasn't Always Like This

Hardcover|May 17 2016

$19.11 online$21.99list price(save 13%)
The Sweet Dead Life
The Sweet Dead Life

Paperback|Feb 4 2014

$11.82 online$13.99list price(save 15%)
see all books by Joy Preble
Format:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.93 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062321307

ISBN - 13:9780062321305

Customer Reviews of Finding Paris

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fast read with a nice sisterly bond Leo Hollings and her sister Paris are used to having only each other to rely on. Their mother follows her whims, from city to city and from guy to guy until she met Tommy, their new gambling addicted stepfather. Paris is a dreamer and Leo is a realist. Leo has plans – she’s going to Stanford. Tonight though, she’s driving around Las Vegas with her sister in search of pie to mend Paris’s broken-heart. All is going well until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel dinner while Leo’s talking to cute Max Sullivan. What was supposed to be a fast trip for pie turns into a road trip where Leo, with Max’s help, tries to find Paris using the clues her sister left and wondering if this is all some game or if her sister’s really in trouble. This was a short book, under 300 pages, so it ended up being a pretty fast read. I really liked the whole concept of the book, that and the cover was what originally caught my attention but I stayed with the book for the sisterly bond between Paris and Leo. They had a very ‘us against the world’ type of attitude and with their circumstances, I completely understood it. I really liked Leo as a character. She was determined to get out of her current situation, she had a plan, and she was doing everything in her power to succeed at that plan. She obviously cared about her sister and she was very book smart, but definitely lacked some common sense. She even remarked a few times how crazy it was that she was running around town with a complete stranger just because he offered to help. Paris was one of those characters where it was hard to fully understand her until the end. She was definitely more of a free-spirit than Leo and until her motivations are fully realized, she could seem selfish and unpredictable and maybe a little wild. I did find that Leo and Max fell for each other a little too quickly. The book took place all within a few days so I could have understood them sharing secrets between them or beginning to fall for each other, it all happened a little fast. They were cute together though and I would have bought into a slower developed romance. For the most part, I liked the road trip hunt for Paris. I did find it a little weird that the notes where always there even if it took a while for Leo to find them. Less public places made sense for the notes to still be there but the busy spots, I found it strange no one else had noticed the note and taken it. It was something that I could overlook for convenience’s sake of the plot. Paris’s reasoning and the big reveal made a lot of sense once everything was exposed. It was something I was expecting and I thought the author did a good job at hinting at the conclusion so it didn’t feel like the twist came out of nowhere, like it was a plot device to shock the reader. A fast read with an interesting sibling dynamic and some twists while road tripping. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-04-01

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Readers who appreciate adventure with a dose of romance will certainly enjoy…Finding Paris.”