Fire On The Horizon: The Untold Story of the Gulf Oil Disaster

Paperback | March 15, 2011 | Large Print

byTom Shroder, John Konrad

not yet rated|write a review

"A phenomenal feat of journalism. . . . I tore through it like a novel but with the queasy knowledge that the whole damn thing is true." —Sebastian Junger, author of The Perfect Storm and War

Blending exclusive first-person interviews and penetrating investigative reporting, oil rig captain John Konrad and veteran Washington Post writer Tom Shroder give the definitive, white-knuckled account of the Deepwater Horizon explosion—as well as a riveting insider’s view of the byzantine culture of offshore drilling that made the disaster inevitable. As the world continues to cope with the oil spill’s grim aftermath—with environmental and economic consequences all the more dire in a region still rebuilding from Hurricane Katrina—Konrad and Schroder’s real-time account of the disaster shows us just where things went wrong, and points the way to a safer future for us all.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.83 online
$34.99 list price (save 9%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

"A phenomenal feat of journalism. . . . I tore through it like a novel but with the queasy knowledge that the whole damn thing is true." —Sebastian Junger, author of The Perfect Storm and War Blending exclusive first-person interviews and penetrating investigative reporting, oil rig captain John Konrad and veteran Washington Post write...

From the Jacket

A real-life thriller in the tradition of The Perfect Storm, Fire on the Horizon recounts the life of the Deepwater Horizon drilling rig—from its construction in South Korea in the year 2000 to its journey around the world to its disastrous end. On and off the rig, Fire on the Horizon reveals the particulars of a culture most of us have...

Tom Shroder was an editor and writer atThe Washington Postfrom 1999 to 2009. Under his stewardship,The Washington Post Magazinewon the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in both 2008 and 2010. He is the author of the nonfiction bestsellerOld Souls. He lives in Vienna, Virginia.

other books by Tom Shroder

Acid Test: Lsd, Ecstasy, And The Power To Heal
Acid Test: Lsd, Ecstasy, And The Power To Heal

Paperback|Aug 11 2015

$20.72 online$24.00list price(save 13%)
The Hunt for Bin Laden
The Hunt for Bin Laden

Kobo ebook|Aug 10 2012

$3.92

see all books by Tom Shroder
Format:Paperback | Large PrintDimensions:378 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.76 inPublished:March 15, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062066544

ISBN - 13:9780062066541

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Fire On The Horizon: The Untold Story of the Gulf Oil Disaster

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Harrowing...the best account yet of what went wrong.”