Firegirl by TONY ABBOTTFiregirl by TONY ABBOTT

Firegirl

byTONY ABBOTTAs told byTONY ABBOTT

Paperback | June 1, 2007

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.84 online 
$10.49 list price save 15%
Earn 44 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This poignant novel about a boy's friendship with a burn victim is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio'sWonder
From the moment Jessica arrives, life is never quite the same for Tom and his seventh-grade classmates. They learn that Jessica has been in a fire and was badly burned, and will be attending St. Catherine's will receiving medical treatments. Despite her appearance and the fear she evokes in him and most of the class, Tom slowly develops a tentative friendship with Jessica that changes his life.
Tony Abbott is the author of over 35 books for young readers, including the extremely popular Secrets of the Droon series, which has sold over 4.5 million books to date. He has worked in a bookstore and libraries, and currently lives in Connecticut with his wife and two daughters.
Loading
Title:FiregirlFormat:PaperbackDimensions:160 pages, 7.62 × 5.25 × 0.5 inPublished:June 1, 2007Publisher:Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316011703

ISBN - 13:9780316011709

Appropriate for ages: 8

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay This book was alright. I found in the first few chapters it was very boring and meaningless. At around chapter 5 things got a little more appealing, as a new character had been introduced. I found at times the book was a bit confusing. I think that if the story included multiple characters perspectives it would make the story more interesting. Also a lot of main events in the story lacked some detail that could potentially be important in the understanding of the story The thing that I did like about this book was the friendship and care Tom showed to Jessica, even when no one else did
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought me to tears This book was incredible. It literally brought me to tears. It has been on my mind and in my thoughts constantly since I finished reading it a week ago. This story is a masterpiece. Tony Abbot has written a story that will touch the heart of every reader; it will likely challenge the thinking and actions of most readers also. The writing is incredible and the characters amazing. The story takes place over a few weeks. A few weeks into the school year, a new girl joins the class. She has moved to town for medical treatments after she had been in a fire. Tom is a bit of an outsider in class; he likes to watch and observe but does not have the confidence to step forward. He is a little over weight and has a love for cars and comics. He ends up sitting beside the new girl because at St. Catherine's they sit alphabetically. The new girl is Jessica Feeney and in a few weeks she will turn Tom's world upside down and challenge what he values. This story will take the reader into the experience of compassion, understanding and grace. It will help us look at how others see and experience things, and will leave a lasting impression on the reader. This was one of the best books I have read in years and I will recommend it to anyone who will listen!
Date published: 2012-02-27