Fireside Gothic

Hardcover | November 8, 2016

byAndrew Taylor

not yet rated|write a review
From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.BROKEN VOICESIt's Christmas before the Great War and two lonely schoolboys have been forced into companionship. Left in the care of an elderly teacher, there is little to do but listen to his eerie tales about the nearby Cathedral. The boys concoct a plan to discover if the stories are true. But the Cathedral is filled with hidden dangers, and curiosity can prove fatal.THE LEPER HOUSEOne stormy night in Suffolk, a man's car breaks down following his sister's funeral. The only source of light comes from a remote cottage by the sea. The mysterious woman who lives there begs him to leave, yet he can't shake the sense that she somehow needs him. He attempts to return the next day but she is nowhere to be seen. And neither is the cottage.THE SCRATCHClare and Gerald live a perfect life in the Forest of Dean with their cat, Cannop. Then Gerald's young nephew comes to stay. Jack is from another world - active service in Afghanistan. The experience has left him outwardly untouched, but for a scratch that won't heal. Jack and Cannop don't like each other. Clare and Jack like each other too much. The scratch begins to fester.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.54 online
$21.99 list price (save 11%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.BROKEN VOICESIt's Christmas before the Great War and two lonely schoolboys have been forced into companionship...

Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club Choice.He has won man...

other books by Andrew Taylor

The Scent Of Death
The Scent Of Death

Paperback|Apr 21 2016

$5.99 online$15.99list price(save 62%)
The Ashes of London
The Ashes of London

Paperback|Apr 26 2016

$20.89 online$24.99list price(save 16%)
The Silent Boy
The Silent Boy

Paperback|Aug 25 2015

$16.91 online$16.99list price
see all books by Andrew Taylor
Format:HardcoverDimensions:256 pagesPublished:November 8, 2016Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008171238

ISBN - 13:9780008171230

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Fireside Gothic

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Ashes of London'The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era. The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale' Financial Times'A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor' The i'This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible.' Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph'A pacey story. Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture. A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes' The Times'Thrilling. Gripping, fast-moving and credible. It's a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive' Spectator'The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable' Literary Review'Finely wrought and solidly researched. The novel's plot is fiendishly complex' Sunday Telegraph'The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish' Peter Swanson