Fireside Gothic

Paperback | December 19, 2017

byAndrew Taylor

not yet rated|write a review
From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.BROKEN VOICESDoes music have its ghosts? Its victims? Something is stirring in the cathedral that both echoes an ancient tragedy and seems to offer a chance of future happiness. One thing is certain. Broken voices make false promises. And their lies may prove fatal.THE LEPER HOUSESeawick's medieval Leper House is all that remains of the Suffolk town that was washed away to sea. A bereaved man arrives there on a stormy night and meets the mysterious woman who dwells there. In a nearby house, another woman waits for history to repeat itself. And a bell tolls once again beneath the waves.THE SCRATCHClare and Gerald live the perfect life in a remote cottage in the Forest of Dean. Cannop the cat has lived with them since they found him as a kitten deep in the Forest. But perfection is fragile, and some scratches never heal.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.12
$16.99 list price save 11%
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.BROKEN VOICESDoes music have its ghosts? Its victims? Something is stirring in the cathedral that both echoes ...

Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed TV drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, The Scent of Death and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club...

other books by Andrew Taylor

The Ashes of London
The Ashes of London

Paperback|Apr 26 2016

$22.99

The Silent Boy
The Silent Boy

Paperback|Aug 25 2015

$14.54$16.99list pricesave 14%
Un parfum de mort
Un parfum de mort

Paperback|Oct 5 2016

$13.95

see all books by Andrew Taylor
Format:PaperbackDimensions:256 pagesPublished:December 19, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008171254

ISBN - 13:9780008171254

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Fireside Gothic

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Fireside Gothic:'Spine tinglers that cry out to be read in the flickering light of a wood fire. Wonderfully atmospheric' Kate Saunders, The TimesPraise for The Ashes of London'The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era. The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale' Financial Times'A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor' The i'This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible.' Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph'A pacey story. Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture. A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes' The Times'Thrilling. Gripping, fast-moving and credible. It's a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive' Spectator'The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable' Literary Review'Finely wrought and solidly researched. The novel's plot is fiendishly complex' Sunday Telegraph'The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish' Peter Swanson