Fireside Gothic by Andrew TaylorFireside Gothic by Andrew Taylor

Fireside Gothic

byAndrew Taylor

Paperback | December 19, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.12 online 
$16.99 list price save 11%
Earn 76 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.Three dark tales to read by the fireside in the cold winter monthsBROKEN VOICESIt's Christmas before the Great War and two lonely schoolboys have been left in the care of an elderly teacher. There is little to do but listen to his eerie tales about the nearby Cathedral. The boys concoct a plan to discover if the stories are true. But curiosity can prove fatal.THE LEPER HOUSEOne stormy night, a man's car breaks down. The only light comes from a remote cottage by the sea. The mysterious woman who lives there begs him to leave, yet the next day he feels compelled to return. But, the woman is nowhere to be seen. And neither is the cottage.THE SCRATCHClare and Gerald live in the Forest of Dean with their cat, Cannop. Gerald's young nephew, back from service in Afghanistan, comes to stay, with a scratch that won't heal. Jack and Cannop don't like each other. Clare and Jack like each other too much. The scratch begins to fester.
Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed TV drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, The Scent of Death and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club...
Title:Fireside GothicFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pagesPublished:December 19, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008171254

ISBN - 13:9780008171254

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Fireside Gothic

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Fireside Gothic:'Spine tinglers that cry out to be read in the flickering light of a wood fire. Wonderfully atmospheric' Kate Saunders, The TimesPraise for The Ashes of London'The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era. The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale' Financial Times'A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor' The i'This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible.' Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph'A pacey story. Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture. A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes' The Times'Thrilling. Gripping, fast-moving and credible. It's a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive' Spectator'The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable' Literary Review'Finely wrought and solidly researched. The novel's plot is fiendishly complex' Sunday Telegraph'The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish' Peter Swanson