First-Time: The Historical Vision of an African American People by Richard PriceFirst-Time: The Historical Vision of an African American People by Richard Price

First-Time: The Historical Vision of an African American People

byRichard Price

Paperback | September 15, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 273 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


A classic of historical anthropology, First-Time traces the shape of historical thought among peoples who had previously been denied any history at all. The top half of each page presents a direct transcript of oral histories told by living Saramakas about their eighteenth-century ancestors, "Maroons" who had escaped slavery and settled in the rain forests of Suriname. Below these transcripts, Richard Price provides commentaries placing the Saramaka accounts into broader social, intellectual, and historical contexts.

First-Time's unique style of presentation preserves the integrity of both its oral and documentary sources, uniting them in a profound meditation on the roles of history and memory. This second edition includes a new preface by the author, discussing First-Time's impact and recounting the continuing struggles of the Saramaka people.
Richard Price is the Duane A. and Virginia S. Dittman Professor of American Studies, Anthropology, and History at the College of William and Mary and winner of the J. I. Staley Prize in Anthropology. First-Time won the 1984 Elsie Clews Parsons Prize from the American Folklore Society.
Title:First-Time: The Historical Vision of an African American PeopleFormat:PaperbackDimensions:208 pages, 10 × 7 × 1.1 inPublished:September 15, 2002Publisher:University of Chicago PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0226680606

ISBN - 13:9780226680606

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

List of Illustrations
Those Times Shall Come Again
Of Speakers/To Readers
The Events
The Heroic Years, 1685-1748
Toward Freedom, 1749-1759
Free At Last, 1760-1762
About the Author