Flight Of The Sparrow: A Novel Of Early America by Amy Belding BrownFlight Of The Sparrow: A Novel Of Early America by Amy Belding Brown

Flight Of The Sparrow: A Novel Of Early America

byAmy Belding Brown

Paperback | September 15, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.95

Earn 150 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

“A compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter.

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people.

Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her.

Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance.

READERS GUIDE INCLUDED
Amy Belding Brown is the author of Mr. Emerson’s Wife, and her work has appeared in Yankee, Good Housekeeping, American Way, The Worcester Review and other national, international, and regional magazines.  Married to a United Church of Christ minister and the mother of four grown children, she lives in Vermont and currently teaches at ...
Loading
Title:Flight Of The Sparrow: A Novel Of Early AmericaFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.75 inShipping dimensions:8.25 × 5.5 × 0.75 inPublished:September 15, 2015Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0451466691

ISBN - 13:9780451466693

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good read but not great One day in the winter of 1676, Mary Rowlandson witnesses the attack and massacre of her village, leaving only a few alive. The survivors are taken captive and made slaves to the native Americans that perpetrated the deed. Soon Mary finds herself in a society that she is totally unfamiliar with and a wilderness she has been taught to fear. While the full true story is lost to time, the author tries to flesh out the plot and characters so that we, the modern reader, may come to understand Mary's experience. However, Mary's own feminist attitudes and behavior are far too modern for my complete enjoyment of the story.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A riveting tale of suffering and survival Flight of the Sparrow is a biographical novel about the experiences of Mary Rowlandson who lived in 17th century Massachusetts at a time when conflict with Native Americans was at its pinnacle. After the town of Lancaster is attacked and burned, Mary and three of her children survive, but are taken captive by a local tribe. She is separated from her children, except for the youngest, Sarah, who is severely injured, and wounded herself, Mary stoically carries her child as far as she can, desperate to try to save her daughter?s life, but knowing that there is little hope. They are taken to the Indian village where she struggles to survive, despite the ultimate loss of Sarah. She is befriended by a Praying Indian named James Printer, who helps guide her in this strange new culture that has been forced upon her. I found Mary?s story and plight heart-wrenching for it is hard to imagine such loss, such cruelty, not only at having witnessed the murder of friends and family, but of having to stoically go on with one?s life without respite. The first half of the story pertains to Mary?s captivity and all that she had to endure. Following that is her rescue and her re-assimilation into a society that would never again embrace her, that almost shuns her. But Mary had somewhat adapted to the native culture, and found many things to laud about it. So when she is installed back into her previous life, a whole new set of struggles arise. Her marriage, her family life, even her Christian faith have been shaken. A great deal of research went into the writing of this novel, made evident by the many interesting details and facts presented through a fictionalized prose. The author did a wonderful job of bringing to life the personal side of Mary?s story including the reactions of her family, friends, and other contacts. The author has presented not only Mary?s suffering, but also that of the Puritans and the tumult faced by the native Americans. A very compelling and authentic story! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-07-14

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Flight of the Sparrow“Breathes life into a vital but oft-neglected chapter of our history. Amy Belding Brown has turned an authentic drama of Indian captivity into a compelling, emotionally gripping tale that is at once wrenching and soulful.”—*Eliot Pattison, author of the Mystery of Colonial America series “A mesmerizing tale of survival and awakening...The deftly depicted cross cultural friendship reminded me of Caleb’s Crossing and the fast-paced story kept me up turning pages.”—Donna Thorland, author of The Turncoat and The Rebel Pirate “Brown’s voice transforms a remote period into a fresh and immediate world and, in Mary, gives us a heroine who is broken by sorrow but determined to survive. This is a novel about the true meaning of faith and freedom.”—Kelly O’Connor McNees, author of The Island of Doves and The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott “The story of Mary Rowlandson is the story of one of the darkest episodes in our nation’s history, and yet Amy Belding Brown manages to turn it into a soaring tale of light and hope…The Flight of the Sparrow reminds us of the promise of America and that the fulfillment of that promise relies on every human heart.”—Sally Cabot Gunning, author of Benjamin Franklin’s Bastard, The Widow’s War, Bound, and The Rebellion of Jane Clarke“In this amazingly written and deeply researched book, Amy Belding Brown delivers 17th-century Massachusetts to the reader with a prose that springs from the page and wraps you in wonder. Flight of the Sparrow showcases the author’s imagination bound by her dedication to historical fact....This is a book for both readers of literary fiction as well as those who love a well-researched work of historical fiction.”—Historical Novel Society Praise for Mr. Emerson’s Wife“Amy Belding Brown has brought her back to life in a novel that glitters with intelligence and authenticity.”—Geraldine Brooks, author of March“In this extraordinary book, Amy Belding Brown has brought the nineteenth century to life...A soaring imaginative leap, this book combines detailed history with a page-turning illicit love story. It’s a look at a rich moment in American history and a great read, a rare combination.”—Susan Cheever, author of My Name Is Bill and Note Found in a Bottle“A beautiful work...It is quite refreshing to see that ambition backed up with a quality of writing that bears up to the weight of its subject matter.”—Bret Lott, author of Jewel and A Song I Knew by Heart