Flowering Earth by Donald PeattieFlowering Earth by Donald Peattie

Flowering Earth

byDonald PeattieAfterword byNoel PeattieForeword byCharles Heiser

Paperback | October 22, 1991

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 173 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Even a diehard urbanite would likely be seduced by this extraordinary chronicle of the plant kingdom... " -Publishers Weekly

... much more than the fascinating story of plant life... It is also a book about the resilience of life itself, the mystery and power of the unseen energy appearing in the visible world in a marvelous variety of forms." -Audubon Naturalist News

Here is Mr. Peattie at his superb best.... [H]e makes the story of botany and its pursuit as fascinating to the reader as it is to him, and the reading of it a delight." -Hartford Times

[Peattie] belongs with Gilbert White, Thoreau, John Burroughs, W. H. Hudson, Richard Jeffries, and John Muir." -Mark van Doren

First published in 1939, this beautifully imaginative book is about botany much in the same sense that Walden is about a pond. Part natural history, part biography, and part philosophical reflection, Flowering Earth is written in a warm, lyrical style that made poet-scientist Donald Culross Peattie one of America's best-known naturalist writers.

Title:Flowering EarthFormat:PaperbackDimensions:276 pages, 8.01 × 5.52 × 0.78 inPublished:October 22, 1991Publisher:Indiana University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0253206626

ISBN - 13:9780253206626

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

I. On Striking Your Roots
II. On Branching Out
III. Chlorophyll: the Sun Trap
IV. What a Plant Is
V. Protoplasm-the Body of Life
VI. The Seeds of Life
VII. The First Algas
VIII. The Seaweeds
IX. The Fern Forests
X. Diatoms-Grass of the Sea
XI. Conifers and Cycads
XII. The Rise of the Modern Floras
XIII. A Transplanting
XIV. A Garden Alliance
XV. The Moment of Flowering
XVI. The Sleep of the Seed
XVII. Growth
XVIII. The Web of Life