For Love And Honor by Jody HedlundFor Love And Honor by Jody Hedlund

For Love And Honor

byJody Hedlund

Perfect | March 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.52 online 
$15.99 list price save 9%
Earn 73 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Lady Sabine is harboring a skin blemish, one, that if revealed, could cause her to be branded as a witch, put her life in danger, and damage her chances of making a good marriage. After all, what nobleman would want to marry a woman so flawed?

Sir Bennet is returning home to protect his family from an imminent attack by neighboring lords who seek repayment of debts. Without fortune or means to pay those debts, Sir Bennet realizes his only option is to make a marriage match with a wealthy noblewoman. As a man of honor, he loathes the idea of courting a woman for her money, but with time running out for his family’s safety, what other choice does he have?

As Lady Sabine and Sir Bennet are thrust together under dangerous circumstances, will they both be able to learn to trust each other enough to share their deepest secrets? Or will those secrets ultimately lead to their demise?

Title:For Love And HonorFormat:PerfectDimensions:240 pages, 8.1 × 5.3 × 0.64 inPublished:March 7, 2017Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310749301

ISBN - 13:9780310749301

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilling blend of danger and romance A spectacular YA romance with a fairy tale feel. There's even a knight in shining armor, though he's the one who needs rescuing from a desperate situation. Sabine has the power to come to his aid -- or, at least, her fortune does. Neither are keen on a marriage devoid of love, but when Bennet pays court to his lady, friendship ensues -- with the promise of more...if only Sabine didn't harbor such a desperate secret. A thrilling blend of danger and romance will keep readers glued to the very last page.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This is another great book by Jody Hedlund. It was thrilling and well written. #PlumReview
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another awesome book by Jody In this book the story of Lady Sabine and Sir Bennet is told. It takes place at Maidstone Castle. Sir Bennet and his family have one month to repay Lord Pitt and if they don't then Maidstone will be attacked and what they owe will be taken by force. Sir Bennet's mother suggests that he could marry a wealthy young noble woman that would have a large enough dowry to cover the cost, but he says that he will never do that because he wants to marry for love not money. Lady Sabine's grandmother arranges for both of them to travel to Maidstone. Lady Sabine thinks that it is to buy some art work and relics, but the fact is that Sabine's grandmother is arranging for Sabine to marry Sir Bennet. On the way to Maidstone Lady Sabine's carriage got stopped by Lord Pitt and his men and they try and rob them and Lady Sabine took off her glove and revealed her skin blemish and they threw the money back at her because they branded her as a witch. The time comes for the debt to be repaid and Lord Pitt and his men come and start attacking Maidstone. Sir Bennet, his brother and Lady Sabine decide to ride out to the middle of the field and meet up with Lord Pitt and some of his men and give them some of the silver they owe was happens to be from Lady Sabine and when Lord Pitt recognizes Lady Sabine, they don't accept the money and they force Lady Sabine to take off her glove and show Sir Bennet her skin blemish to prove that she is a witch. Sir Bennet is shocked because Lady Sabine had worn her gloves at all times since arriving at Maidstone. Lord Pitt and his men wanted to burn Lady Sabine at the stake to prove for sure that she was a witch, so they take her hostage. Sir Bennet and his brother rescues Lady Sabine before anything can happen. Sir Bennet collapses after the rescue from the wounds that he received during the attack so he has to heal from those and during that time he reads books to look for a better way to prove Lady Sabine's innocence. Lady Sabine decides to head back home but along the way Lord Pitt and his men stop her carriage and kidnap Lady Sabine and take her to a lake to see if she floats or sinks as a way to prove that she is a witch. When Sir Bennet finds out that Lady Sabine has left, he leaves his sick bed to go and find her. He is able to rescue her yet again but ends up opening all of his wounds so needs to go back to resting and healing. Both Sir Bennet and Lady Sabine realize they love each other and end up getting married. The duke during the wedding asked Lady Sabine to recite the Lord's Prayer to prove her innocence.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spellbinding Tale One had to marry for money. The other because no one else would have her. Would they find love in such an unorthodox union? Lady Sabine lived with the brand of a witch—a hideous blemish—all her life. Even though she tried to hide it, somehow it didn’t remain a secret. It will ruin her opportunities at love. Now her grandmother hears of a chance for her to marry, but will Sabine in her stubborn nature agree? Her grandmother devises a plan to get her to Maidstone under a false pretense hoping Sir Bennet can win Sabine’s heart. Sir Bennet Windsor’s brother has squandered their riches and left Maidstone in dire straits and now the only hope to escape the evil clutches of Lord Pitt is an arranged marriage to get a wealthy dowry. When Lady Sabine arrives at his castle, he can’t help but be captivated by her spirited personality even though she isn’t what some would call beautiful. Can he set aside his guilt over having to marry for money and charm her? Sabine and Bennet soon find themselves in a dangerous situation as Maidstone is under attack, but can they overcome the forces outside as well as the ones within their hearts? For Love & Honor by Jody Hedlund is teen fiction at it’s best. I loved this story and read it in almost one sitting! It captivated me from the beginning and I couldn’t stop turning the pages. The plot line had me from the start. This author has a way with words and is a great storyteller. The characters are solid. I loved both Sabine and Bennet. They have a way of getting into your heart. The vivid imagery in this book had me picturing everything. From inside the castle to the art gallery Sabine and Bennet spent hours exploring. This book has something for everyone. Love, humor, and suspense. It’s a great tale on how beauty is more than outer appearances. It’s what inside that counts. I give For Love & Honor five stars. It’s a gem of a tale that will have you spellbound! **Book has been provided courtesy of Zondervan and the author in exchange for my honest review.
Date published: 2017-03-07

Editorial Reviews

Award-winning historical fiction author Jody Hedlund presents the third book in her trio of related medieval young adult novels. For Love and Honor gives a nod to Beauty and the Beast.In For Love and Honor, Lady Sabine is a young noblewoman. Although she is beautiful and wealthy, she has a physical flaw that could prevent her from making a good marriage as well as endanger her life due to 14th century superstitions. Meanwhile, Sir Bennet is called home to rescue his family from financial ruin. His brother has incurred a debt that cannot be easily repaid. The only recourse is to marry a wealthy noblewoman, but Bennet doesn't want to marry just for that.Sabine travels to Bennet's home, thinking she is purchasing some valuable art and unaware that her grandmother has her own plan. When Bennet's home is attacked while Lady Sabine is there, they are forced to trust one another. Will they build a relationship based on love and honor? What will happen when Sabine's blemish is revealed and she is called a witch?Written from a dual viewpoint, the book employs two different fonts. Hedlund excels at showing how others judge by external appearances while God judges by the inward beauty. The spiritual element is evident but not heavy-handed.Filled with descriptive narrative and endearing characters, For Love and Honor is an entertaining read-except for the necessary violence in the fighting scenes and Sabine's imprisonment. Its believable plot has enough twists to keep the reader engaged. Fans of Lisa Bergren's River of Time series, Dina Sleiman's Valiant Hearts series, and Melanie Dickerson's medieval young adult books will also enjoy Hedlund's medieval stories. Recommended for teen collections in public libraries and school libraries. Carol R. Gehringer