For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The Blind

Paperback | March 10, 2015

byRosemary Mahoney

not yet rated|write a review
"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author ofFar From the Tree
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks'sThe Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.00

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author ofFar From the TreeIn the tradition of Oliver Sacks'sThe Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Witho...

Rosemary Mahoney is the author ofThe Early Arrival of Dreams, aNew York TimesNotable Book;Whoredom in Kimmage, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist;Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff,aNew York TimesNotable Book; and two other books. She was a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow and is the recipient of a Whiting Writer's Award.

other books by Rosemary Mahoney

The Singular Pilgrim: Travels on Sacred Ground
The Singular Pilgrim: Travels on Sacred Ground

Paperback|May 11 2004

$30.61 online$32.95list price
My Path Leads to Tibet: The Inspiring Story of the Blind Woman Who Brought Hope to the Children of…
My Path Leads to Tibet: The Inspiring Story of the Blin...

Kobo ebook|Nov 6 2013

$14.69 online$18.99list price(save 22%)
see all books by Rosemary Mahoney
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:March 10, 2015Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316043435

ISBN - 13:9780316043434

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The Blind

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Life without sight seems unimaginably bleak to the sighted. No matter that literate guides from Diderot to Oliver Sacks have confirmed that the blind thrive in their separate reality; the gulf between the light world and the dark one persists. Now a sighted, initially skeptical traveler has provided a multilayered, utterly gripping account of life among the developing world's large blind population... Everyone knows that the loss of one sense strengthens the others, but to understand exactly what that means is not easy. Ms. Mahoney writes with an alchemy that actually inches the reader along to the point of comprehension."-Abigail Zuger, M.D., New York Times