For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The Blind by Rosemary Mahoney

For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The Blind

byRosemary Mahoney

Paperback | March 10, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.00 online 
$22.00 list price save 22%
Earn 85 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author ofFar From the Tree
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks'sThe Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

About The Author

Rosemary Mahoney is the author ofThe Early Arrival of Dreams, aNew York TimesNotable Book;Whoredom in Kimmage, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist;Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff,aNew York TimesNotable Book; and two other books. She was a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow and is the recipient of a Whiting Writer's Award.
Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff
Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff

by Rosemary Mahoney

$12.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

The Singular Pilgrim: Travels on Sacred Ground
The Singular Pilgrim: Travels on Sacred Ground

by Rosemary Mahoney

$30.76$32.95

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The BlindFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:March 10, 2015Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316043435

ISBN - 13:9780316043434

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of For The Benefit Of Those Who See: Dispatches From The World Of The Blind

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Life without sight seems unimaginably bleak to the sighted. No matter that literate guides from Diderot to Oliver Sacks have confirmed that the blind thrive in their separate reality; the gulf between the light world and the dark one persists. Now a sighted, initially skeptical traveler has provided a multilayered, utterly gripping account of life among the developing world's large blind population... Everyone knows that the loss of one sense strengthens the others, but to understand exactly what that means is not easy. Ms. Mahoney writes with an alchemy that actually inches the reader along to the point of comprehension."-Abigail Zuger, M.D., New York Times