For the Liberty of Texas (Illustrated Edition) by Edward Stratemeyer

For the Liberty of Texas (Illustrated Edition)

byEdward Stratemeyer

Kobo ebook | May 18, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


This is a historical fiction novel about the struggle for Texas independence from Mexico. Although complete in itself, this is the first of a line of three books to be known as the Mexican War series. In the form of a boy's story, it describes the conditions in Texas when it was hemmed in between scheming Mexicans on one side and murderous Indians on the other, before it had become a territory of the United States.

Dan Radbury and his younger brother Ralph, encounter exciting adventures throughout the book. Dan even particpates in the fall of the Alamo, but escapes!

This edition of the book contains the 10 original illustrations, rejuvenated.

Edward Stratemeyer (1862-1930) was born in Elizabeth, New Jersey. He was an American publisher and writer of books for children. He wrote 150 books himself, and created the most famous of the series books for juveniles, including the Rover Boys (1899 and after), Bobbsey Twins (1904), Tom Swift (1910), Hardy Boys (1927), and Nancy Drew (1930) series, among others. Stratemeyer pioneered the technique of producing long-running, consistent series of books using a team of freelance authors to write standardised novels, which were published under a pen name owned by his company. Through his Stratemeyer Syndicate, founded in 1906, Stratemeyer produced short plot summaries for the novels in each series, which he sent to other writers who completed the story. Stratemeyer's series were also innovative in that they were intended purely as entertainment, with little of the moral lessons or educational intent found in most other popular fiction of the early twentieth century. Stratemeyer's series included, besides the famous ones, many that are now forgotten except by collectors: The Motor Boys (1906), Honey Bunch (1923), The Blythe Girls (1925) and Bomba the Jungle Boy (1926).

Title:For the Liberty of Texas (Illustrated Edition)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:May 18, 2017Publisher:Steve GabanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: