Forbidden by Syrie JamesForbidden by Syrie James

Forbidden

bySyrie James

Paperback | January 24, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.69 online 
$12.50 list price save 6%
Earn 58 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A romantic and endearing novel perfect for fans of Rachel Vincent, Julie Kagawa, and Alyson Noel, from bestselling author Syrie James and her son, Ryan.

When Claire Brennan begins to get psychic visions and mysterious warnings that she’s in danger at the start of her junior year, she isn’t sure what to think. But the truth is stranger than anything she could have imagined.

Alec MacKenzie has fled his duties as a Watcher angel and come to L.A. in search of normalcy. He never dreamed he would find a half-angel at his school, or that he would fall in love with her.

Romantic, with a touch of humor, readers will be swept away by this thrilling stand-alone novel from bestselling adult author Syrie James (The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen) and her son, Ryan James.

Syrie James is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimedNocturne;Dracula, My Love;The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte(Great Group Read, Women's National Book Association; Audie Romance Award, 2011), and the international bestsellerThe Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen(Best First Novel 2008,Library Journal.) Translation rights for...
Loading
Title:ForbiddenFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:January 24, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062027891

ISBN - 13:9780062027894

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute Story This was your typical 'Forbidden Love' book!! But I truly enjoyed it, it was cute in a sense. I really liked that the Authors used some swearing (that's always a plus for me, don't judge). There were no secrets between friends, which was a nice change. Every character was included throughout the whole book. I gave this book 4 stars because it was: 1. Predictable -.50 of a star 2. Not enough action -.50 of a star This was a really fast flowing story, ALL the characters were fun and funny. But they were true friends and it made their click have great chemistry. Claire and Alec were your typical forbidden love but it didn't drag; like most books do. They hated each other then fell in love then they were parted and then they came together again.... blah blah blah.... and still I loved it!!! It mostly took place in a school but there was so much more to it than that. They were involved with the school like, choir (that's how she first fell for Alec... Like I said super cute), prom and tutoring... It sounds dumb, but it's not what you think. Read the book to know what I mean In conclusion to my terrible review, this book was: 1. Funny and Entertaining 2. All the Characters where fanfreakintastic 3. wasn't bored once and a fast read 4. VERY CUTE love story! 4 *'s
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great read Can't wait to read more. Great book.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forbidden A really sweet love story :-)
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good read Great read, :-) more to come ??
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing and Twilight-esque Unfortunately, for me, this book was a giant cliche. The first half of this book is so much like Twilight, that it makes me think they did it on purpose. On her first day at school, Claire meets a mysterious boy, who doesn't say much but is strangely drawn to her. Later on he displays unnatural abilities while saving her from an oncoming car. And when he uses his abilities he glows. These are just a few examples, but they feel awfully familiar. The second half was slightly more original. Instead of vampires and werewolves the focus was on the mythology of angels – specifically the Grigori and the Nephilim. I haven't read a lot of angel books so I don't know if this is a common mythology, but I definitely found it an interesting one. Unfortunately, amongst this mythology was even more cliches. First off was the whole “damsel in distress” storyline. I'm really tired of females characters that need to be rescued all the time. Especially, since we're led to believe that Claire has these amazing angelic powers that make her a threat to the others (like the Grigori and the Fallen). I wish she had spent a little more time thinking for herself then simply running off to find Alec to save her. Which brings me to my second complaint. Insta-love. I'm sorry but there is no way these two are in love already. It is ludicrous. They barely know each other and they spent part of the time they did know each other lying about themselves. So they know each other even less than they think they do! It just wasn't realistic. This book really disappointed me. It felt like a recycled story. I really liked the mythology and felt like they could have really done something interesting with it. Instead it fell victim to the same old YA tropes that need to be left behind. This and other reviews at Christa's Hooked on Books (http://christashookedonbooks.blogspot.com)
Date published: 2012-02-01

Editorial Reviews

“Hits all the right notes…If you enjoy angels, ‘forbidden’ romance and dashing heroes, then this should be added to your TBR.”