Formula 2: The Glory Years: 1967-84 by Chris WittyFormula 2: The Glory Years: 1967-84 by Chris Witty

Formula 2: The Glory Years: 1967-84

byChris WittyPhotographed byJutta FauselForeword byJacky Ickx

Hardcover | September 15, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$126.00 online 
$140.00 list price
Earn 630 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


This sumptuous book, a feast of nostalgia, celebrates the wonderful era of the European Formula 2 Championship, 1967-84, on the 50th anniversary of its beginnings. Formula 2 pitted emerging heroes against the greats of the day and virtually all the top Formula 1 drivers - names like Jackie Stewart, Jack Brabham, Graham Hill, Jochen Rindt and Bruce McLaren in 1967 - battled with young chargers in races that thrilled huge crowds at the best European circuits, from the Nürburgring to Brands Hatch. In bringing the glory days of Formula 2 back to life in this book, passionate author Chris Witty has interviewed many of the surviving protagonists to present a colourful and evocative retrospective, supported by the work of Jutta Fausel, who photographed Formula 2 races throughout this period.

Birth of the European Formula 2 Championship in 1967, when Jacky Ickx (the writer of the book's foreword) became the first champion, driving a Tyrrell-entered Matra.

French Matra cars propelled the next two champions, Jean-Pierre Beltoise (1968) and Johnny Servoz-Gavin (1969), both Frenchmen.

Of all the manufacturers of Formula 2 cars, March achieved the most success, Ronnie Peterson (1971) becoming the first of six champions to win in these British-built cars.

A fine all-British year, 1972, saw ex-motorcycle 'great' Mike Hailwood win the championship in a Surtees car.

French champions in five consecutive years: Jean-Pierre Jarier (1973), Patrick Depailler (1974), Jacques Laffite (1975), Jean-Pierre Jabouille (1976) and Rene Arnoux (1977) dominated their era and all but Jarier went on to become Grand Prix winners.

Toleman and Ralt cars - also made in Britain - emerged in the final years of the championship, which saw three more British champions: Brian Henton (1980), Geoff Lees (1981) and Jonathan Palmer (1983).

The other champions were Clay Regazzoni (1970), Bruno Giacomelli (1978), Marc Surer (1979), Corrado Fabi (1980) and Mike Thackwell (1984).

Chris Wittywas a motor racing journalist for much of the period covered by this book, first withMotoring News, thenAutosport, and Formula 2 was the focus of his reporting. From 1980 he moved into public relations and marketing, first with the Toleman Group during the period in which it raced in Formula 2 and ran Ayrton Senna in its For...
Title:Formula 2: The Glory Years: 1967-84Format:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 9.41 × 7.24 × 0.98 inPublished:September 15, 2017Publisher:Evro Publishing LimitedLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1910505196

ISBN - 13:9781910505199

Look for similar items by category: