Four Great Tragedies: Hamlet; Macbeth; King Lear; Othello

byWilliam ShakespeareIntroduction bySylvan Barnet

Mass Market Paperback | June 1, 1998

Four Great Tragedies: Hamlet; Macbeth; King Lear; Othello by William Shakespeare
Earn 45 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $35

Available in stores


The greatest tragic plays of William Shakespeare—including Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, and Macbeth.

What is tragedy? The Elizabethans defined it as a "lofty" play showing "personages of great state" caught up in a "lamentable" action that "beginneth prosperously and endeth unfortunately." Whether judged by this or any other standard, the plays selected for this collection are considered to be the four central works of Shakespearean tragedy and must be included in any list of the world's finest tragic literature. And to make these plays more accessible for the modern reader, this edition includes the following special features:

· Reliable texts by noted Shakespeare scholars
· Texts printed in the clearest, most readable type
· Names of each speaker given in full
· Detailed footnotes at the bottom of each page keyed to the numbered lines of the text
· Textual notes
· Updated bibliography
Four Great Tragedies - William Shakespeare Introduction by Sylvan BarnetHamletMacbethKing LearOthello
Title:Four Great Tragedies: Hamlet; Macbeth; King Lear; OthelloFormat:Mass Market PaperbackProduct dimensions:592 pages, 6.81 X 4.13 X 0.95 inShipping dimensions:592 pages, 6.81 X 4.13 X 0.95 inPublished:June 1, 1998Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0451527291

ISBN - 13:9780451527295

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: