Further Conflicts by NewCon Press

Further Conflicts

byNewCon Press

Kobo ebook | May 23, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Available for download

Not available in stores


Thirteen tales of human striving, of ingenuity, brilliance, desperate action, violence, and resolution, all original to this collection. Thirteen tales of Conflict, of Science Fiction at its absolute best, from some of the genre’s most accomplished writers: Dan Abnett, Tony Ballantyne, Andy Remic, Philip Palmer, Adam Roberts, etc. In addition, Further Conflicts includes a rare short story from South African author Lauren Beukes, winner of the 2011 Arthur C Clarke Award.

A beleaguered army unit fights a very alien war and is forced to mourn one of their own; the crew of a Russian ice submarine faces an uncertain future in a dystopian world; a war artist lifts the lid on what’s really going on in a disturbingly plausible future; a warrior returns home from galactic conflict only to face his greatest ever challenge; a teacher fights desperately to save a school and its pupils from the ravages of the dreaded Harvesters; a missionary doctor harbours an alien fugitive against all advice and reason; there’s intrigue in the powder-keg environment of an alien prison installation and much, much more…

1.Introduction – Ian Whates
2.The Wake – Dan Abnett
3.Unaccounted – Lauren Beukes
4.The War Artist – Tony Ballantyne
5.The Harvest – Kim Lakin-Smith
6.Brwydr Am Ryddid – Stephen Palmer
7.The New Ships – Gareth L Powell
8.The Soul of the Machine – Eric Brown
9.Occupation – Colin Harvey
10.Extraordinary Rendition – Steve Longworth
11.Yakker Snak – Andy Remic
12.The Legend of Sharrock – Philip Palmer
13.The Ice Submarine – Adam Roberts
14.Welcome Home, Jannisary – Tim C Taylor
15.About the Authors

Title:Further ConflictsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:May 23, 2011Publisher:NewCon PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:190706995X

ISBN - 13:9781907069956

Look for similar items by category: