Game-based Assessment Revisited by Dirk IfenthalerGame-based Assessment Revisited by Dirk Ifenthaler

Game-based Assessment Revisited

byDirk IfenthalerEditorYoon Jeon Kim

Hardcover | January 15, 2020

Pricing and Purchase Info

$212.95

Earn 1,065 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

The capabilities and possibilities of emerging game-based learning technologies bring about a new perspective of learning and instruction. This, in turn, necessitates alternative ways to assess the kinds of learning that are taking place in the game-based environments. The field has been broadening the focus of assessment in game environments (i.e., what we measure), developing processes and methodologies that go beyond psychometrics practices (i.e., how we go about assessment in games), and implementing the game-based assessment (GBA) in real contexts. The current state of the field calls for a revisit of this topic to understand what we have learned from the research on this topic, and how the GBA work changed how the field thinks about assessment beyond game environments. Accordingly, this comprehensive volume covers the current state of research, methodology, and technology of game-based assessment.  It features four major themes: what we are measuring in games, how GBA has influenced how people do assessment beyond games, new methods and practices, and implementations of GBA. The audience for this volume includes researchers, graduate students, teachers, and professional practitioners in the areas of education, instructional design, educational psychology, academic and organizational development, and instructional technology.

Dirk Ifenthaler is Professor and Chair of Learning, Design and Technology at University of Mannheim, Germany and UNESCO Deputy Chair of Data Science in Higher Education Learning and Teaching at Curtin University, Australia. His previous roles include Professor and Director, Centre for Research in Digital Learning at Deakin University, ...
Loading
Title:Game-based Assessment RevisitedFormat:HardcoverPublished:January 15, 2020Publisher:Springer NatureLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:3030155684

ISBN - 13:9783030155681

Reviews

Table of Contents


-        Part I: What we are measuring in games

-        Part II: Assessment beyond games

-        Part III: New methods and practices in GBA


-        Part IV: Implementations of GBA

-        Index of Subjects and Topics


I.    Invitation of Contributors

 

An open call will be disseminated through listserve announcements. In addition, authors will be invited to contribute to the edited volume through personal messages by the editor. The final contributing authors will be selected in a two-phase process. First, authors are invited to submit a proposal summarizing the proposed chapter and overall fit to the book's theme. Second, selected authors are invited to submit full chapter manuscripts. Proposals and chapters will undergo a blind-review process. Those who will be invited to contribute a chapter include:

 

Name

Affiliation

Email

Francesco Bellotti

University of Genoa, Italy

franz@elios.unige.it

Greg Chung

UCLA, CRESST

chung@cresst.org

Douglas B. Clark

Vanderbilt University, USA

doug.clark@vanderbilt.edu

Alessandro De Gloria

University of Genoa, Italy

adg@elios.unige.it

Aroutis Foster

Drexel University, USA

aroutis@drexel.edu

Manuel Gentile

ITD-CNR, Italy

manuel.gentile@itd.cnr.it

 

David Gibson

 

Curtin University, Australia

david.c.gibson@curtin.edu.a u

Fengfeng Ke

Florida State University, USA

fke@admin.fsu.edu

 

Christian Sebastian Loh

Southern Illinois University, USA

 

csloh@siu.edu

 

Robert J. Mislevy

Educational Testing Service,

USA

 

rmislevy@ets.org

 

Brett E. Shelton

 

Boise State University, USA

brettshelton@boisestate.ed u

Valerie Shute

Florida State University, USA

vshute@fsu.edu

P. G. Schrader

University of Nevada, USA

pg.schrader@unlv.edu

 

Remco Veltkamp

University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

 

R.C.Veltkamp@uu.nl

Eric Klopfer

MIT, USA

klopfer@mit.edu

 

 

 

 

11


 

 

 

 


12

 

 

David Gagnon

Field Day Lab, University of Wisconsin, USA

 

david.gagnon@wisc.edu

Jodi Asbell-Clarke

TERC, USA

jodi_asbell-clarke@terc.edu

Elizabeth Rowe

TERC, USA

elizabeth_rowe@terc.edu

Kevin Miklasz

BrainPOP, USA

kevinm@brainpop.com

 

Liz Owen

 

Age of Learning, USA

v.elizabeth.owen@gmail.co m

 

Kristin Dicerbo

 

Pearson, USA

kristen.dicerbo@pearson.co

m

 

Nathan Holbert

Teachers College, Columbia University, USA

 

nrh2118@tc.columbia.edu

 

Scott Warren

University of North Texas, USA

 

scott.warren@unt.edu

 

Malcolm Bauer,

Educational Testing Service,

USA

 

mbauer@ets.org