Gargantua And Pantagruel

Paperback | December 26, 2006

byFrancois RabelaisTranslated byM. A. Screech, M A Screech

not yet rated|write a review
A masterly new translation of Rabelais’s robust scatalogical comedy

Parodying everyone from classic authors to his own contemporaries, the dazzling and exuberant stories of Rabelais expose human follies with mischievous and often obscene humor. Gargantua depicts a young giant who becomes a cultured Christian knight. Pantagruel portrays Gargantua’s bookish son who becomes a Renaissance Socrates, divinely guided by wisdom and by his idiotic, self-loving companion, Panurge.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.60 online
$27.00 list price (save 23%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A masterly new translation of Rabelais’s robust scatalogical comedy Parodying everyone from classic authors to his own contemporaries, the dazzling and exuberant stories of Rabelais expose human follies with mischievous and often obscene humor. Gargantua depicts a young giant who becomes a cultured Christian knight. Pantagruel portray...

François Rabelais was born at the end of the fifteenth century. A Franciscan monk turned Benedictine, he abandoned the cloister in 1530 and began to study medicine at Montpellier. Two years later he wrote his first work, Pantagruel, which revealed his genius as a storyteller, satirist, propagandist and creator of comic situations and c...

other books by Francois Rabelais

The Works Of Francis Rabelais, Volume 4
The Works Of Francis Rabelais, Volume 4

Hardcover|Nov 15 2015

$38.23 online$41.50list price(save 7%)
see all books by Francois Rabelais
Format:PaperbackDimensions:1104 pages, 7.8 × 5.1 × 1.9 inPublished:December 26, 2006Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140445501

ISBN - 13:9780140445503

Appropriate for ages: 18 - 18

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Gargantua And Pantagruel

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learned Wit! One of the greatest books I have ever read. Recommended for fans of Joyce and Pynchon.so funny, so wise, so scatological: Rabelais skewers the scholastic world on the barb of wit.
Date published: 2016-11-08