Gargantua And Pantagruel by Francois RabelaisGargantua And Pantagruel by Francois Rabelais

Gargantua And Pantagruel

byFrancois Rabelais

Paperback | October 1, 1991

Pricing and Purchase Info

$27.97

Earn 140 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Biting and bawdy, smart and smutty, lofty and low, Gargantua and Pantagruel is fantasy on the grandest of scales, told with an unquenchable thirst for all of human experience. Rabelais's vigorous examination of the life of his times-from bizarre battles to great drinking bouts, from satire on religion and education to matter-of-fact descriptions of bodily functions and desires-is one of the great comic masterpieces of literature.
One of the leading humanist writers of the French Renaissance, Rabelais was at first a Franciscan and then a Benedictine monk, a celebrated physician and professor of anatomy, and later cure of Meudon. The works of Rabelais are filled with life to the overflowing, hence the term "Rabelaisian." His principal protagonists, Gargantua and ...
Loading
Title:Gargantua And PantagruelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:1 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.6 inPublished:October 1, 1991Publisher:W W Norton

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0393308065

ISBN - 13:9780393308068

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learned Wit! One of the greatest books I have ever read. Recommended for fans of Joyce and Pynchon.so funny, so wise, so scatological: Rabelais skewers the scholastic world on the barb of wit.
Date published: 2016-11-08

From Our Editors

Biting and bawdy, smart and smutty, lofty and low, Gargantua and Pantagruel is fantasy on the grandest of scales, told with an unquenchable thirst for all of human experience. Rabelais's vigorous examination of the life of his times-from bizarre battles to great drinking bouts, from satire on religion and education to matter-of-fact descriptions of bodily functions and desires-is one of the great comic masterpieces of literature.