Gargantua and Pantagruel by François Rabelais

Gargantua and Pantagruel

byFrançois Rabelais

Kobo ebook | April 7, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Gargantua and Pantagruel is a collection of five novels written written by major French Renaissance writer François Rabelais in the 16th century in which author describes adventures of two giants named Gargantua and his son Pantagruel. The story can be characterized as amusing, satirical and extravagant. Rabealis invented hundreds of new words due to Ancient Greek studies, many of them became part of French language. Wordplay and risky humor are distinctive features of this author. Since this novel is a pentalogy, there are five books: The Horrible and Terrifying Deeds and Words of the Very Renowned Pantagruel King of the Dipsodes, Son of the Great Giant Gargantua; The Very Horrific Life of Great Gargantua, Father of Pantagruel; The Third Book of the Heroic Deeds and Sayings of Good Pantagruel; The Fourth Book of the Heroic Deeds and Sayings of Good Pantagruel; The Fifth and Last Book of the Heroic Deeds and Sayings of Good Pantagruel. The author makes fun of many of human frailties, his contemporary church and government. Feel the French spirit with these daring and wonderful book!

Title:Gargantua and PantagruelFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:April 7, 2015Publisher:Media GalaxyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: