Garry Kasparov On Garry Kasparov, Part 2: 1985-1993 by Garry KasparovGarry Kasparov On Garry Kasparov, Part 2: 1985-1993 by Garry Kasparov

Garry Kasparov On Garry Kasparov, Part 2: 1985-1993

byGarry Kasparov

Hardcover | September 17, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$49.30 online 
$59.00 list price save 16%
Earn 247 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Garry Kasparov on Garry Kasparov: Part II is the second volume in a major three-volume series made unique by the fact that it records the greatest chess battles played by the greatest chessplayer of all-time Part I of this series saw Kasparov emerging as a huge talent and eventually toppling his great rival Anatoly Karpov to gain the world title. This volume focuses on the period from 1985-1993 which witnessed two further matches against Karpov as well as Kasparov's first title clash with a "non-Karpov" opponent when he successfully defended his title against Nigel Short in London in 1993. In this period Kasparov emphasized his huge superiority over his rivals. Despite generally adopting an uncompromising, double-edged attacking style he almost never lost. The games in this volume feature many masterpieces of controlled aggression played against the world's absolute best.
Garry Kasparov is generally regarded as the greatest chess player ever. He was the thirteenth World Champion, holding the title between 1985 and 2000. His tournament record is second to none, featuring numerous wins in the world's major events, often by substantial margins. As well as his outstanding successes, Kasparov has constantly ...
Title:Garry Kasparov On Garry Kasparov, Part 2: 1985-1993Format:HardcoverDimensions:496 pages, 10 × 7 × 0.98 inPublished:September 17, 2013Publisher:Everyman ChessLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:178194024X

ISBN - 13:9781781940242

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

Every chess aficionado should own the complete series of recent Kasparov publications: Garry Kasparov on My Great Predecessors, Garry Kasparov on Modern Chess, and Kasparov on Garry Kasparov. Many, of course, do – myself included. The entire series is a miracle of chess passion and erudition and its most recent addition – Garry Kasparov on Garry Kasparov part II: 1985-1993, published by Everyman Chess, is no exception.- I can confirm the quality is every bit as high as for the previous volumes and one can order with full confidence in this being another modern classic.- CHESS Magazine