Gay American Autobiography: Writings from Whitman to Sedaris by David BergmanGay American Autobiography: Writings from Whitman to Sedaris by David Bergman

Gay American Autobiography: Writings from Whitman to Sedaris

EditorDavid Bergman

Paperback | April 1, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 195 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


In the first anthology to survey the full range of gay men’s autobiographical writing from Walt Whitman to the present, Gay American Autobiography draws excerpts from letters, journals, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies to provide examples of the best life writing over the last century and a half.
    Volume editor David Bergman guides the reader chronologically through selected writings that give voice to every generation of gay writers since the nineteenth century, including a diverse array of American men of African, European, Jewish, Asian, and Latino heritage. Documenting a range of life experiences that encompass tattoo artists and academics, composers and drag queens, hustlers and clerks, it contains accounts of turn-of-the-century transvestites, gay rights activists, men battling AIDS, and soldiers attempting to come out in the army. Each selection provides important insight on the wide spectrum of ways gay men have defined and lived their lives, highlighting how self-awareness changes an author’s experience.
    The volume includes an introduction by Bergman and headnotes for each of the nearly forty entries. Bringing many out-of-print and hard-to-find works to new readers, this challenging and comprehensive anthology chronicles American gay history and life struggles over the course of the past 150 years.
Finalist, Lambda Book Award for LGBT Anthology, Lambda Literary Foundation
David Bergman is professor of English at Towson State University and author of numerous books including Cracking the Code, winner of the 1985 George Elliston Poetry Prize, and Men on Men 2000, winner of the 2001 Lambda Literary Award for Best Literary Anthology.
Title:Gay American Autobiography: Writings from Whitman to SedarisFormat:PaperbackDimensions:426 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.1 inPublished:April 1, 2009Publisher:University of Wisconsin PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0299230449

ISBN - 13:9780299230449

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents


Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862), from his journals   
Walt Whitman (1819–1892), from his letters to Peter Doyle   
Henry James (1843–1916), from his letters to Hendrick Andersen   
Charles Warren Stoddard (1843–1909), "Chumming with a Savage: Kána-aná"   
Alexander Berkman (1870–1936), from Prison Memoirs of an Anarchist   
Claude Hartland (1871–?), from The Story of a Life   
Earl Lind (1874–?), from Autobiography of an Androgyne   
Russell Cheney (1881–1945) and F. O. Matthiessen (1902–1950), from Rat and the Devil   
"Jeb Alexander" (1899–1965), from Jeb and Dash   
Glenway Wescott (1901–1987), from Continual Lessons   
Lincoln Kirstein (1906–1996), "Carlsen, Crane"   
Samuel M. Steward (Phil Andros) (1909–1993), "The Magic Summer"   
Paul Goodman (1911–1972), from Five Years   
Tobias Schneebaum (1922–2005), "The Priest and the Pagans"   
Ned Rorem (b. 1923), from The New York Diary   
Edward Field (b. 1924), "Gay in the Army"   
Minette (1928–2001), from Recollections of a Part-Time Lady   
Martin Duberman (b. 1930), from Cures   
Michael Rumaker (b. 1932), from A Day and a Night at the Baths   
John Rechy (b. 1934), from The Sexual Outlaw   
Alan Helms (b. 1937), from Young Man from the Provinces   
Arnie Kantrowitz (b. 1940), from Under the Rainbow   
Edmund White (b. 1940), "Writing Gay"   
Samuel R. Delany (b. 1942), from The Motion of Light in Water   
Andrew Holleran (b. 1943), "My Harvard"   
Paul Monette (1945–1995), "Puck"   
Jaime Manrique (b. 1949), "The Last Days of Reinaldo Arenas"   
Kevin Killian (b. 1952), "Cherry"   
Michael Klein (b. 1954), "The End of Being Known"   
David Wojnarowicz (1954–1992), "Memories That Smell Like Gasoline"   
David B. Feinberg (1956–1994), "On the Drip"   
David Sedaris (b. 1956), "Hejira"   
Essex Hemphill (1957–1995), "Ceremonies"   
Wayne Koestenbaum (b. 1960), "The Aryan Boy"   
Gil Cuadros (1962–1996), "Chivalry"   
Justin Chin (b. 1969), from Attack of the Man-Eating Lotus Blossoms   

Editorial Reviews

“Bergman has brought together an impressive, diverse cache of source materials in a field which has been written on, but has always lacked a generic anthology. There have been subject- and period-based anthologies, but nothing spanning the 150 years or so of available material in this way.”—Richard Canning, University of Sheffield