Geography Club by Brent HartingerGeography Club by Brent Hartinger

Geography Club

byBrent Hartinger

Paperback | February 17, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

Earn 63 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A modern classic about a group of teens discovering sexuality and identity, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and David Levithan.

Brent Hartinger's debut novel is a fast-paced, funny, and trenchant portrait of contemporary teenagers who may not learn any actual geography, but who learn plenty about the treacherous social terrain of high school and the even more dangerous landscape of the human heart.

Russel Middlebrook is convinced he's the only gay kid at Goodkind High School. Then his online gay chat buddy turns out to be none other than Kevin, the popular but closeted star of the school's baseball team.

Soon Russel meets other gay students, too. There's his best friend Min, who reveals that she is bisexual, and her soccer-playing girlfriend Terese. Then there's Terese's politically active friend, Ike.

But how can a group like this get together at school without drawing attention to themselves? "We just choose a club that's so boring, nobody in their right mind would ever in a million years join it. We could call it Geography Club!"

Brent Hartinger has been a full-time author for many years, writing novels, plays, and screenplays. He lives in Washington State. Among his books are Geography Club and its sequel, The Order of the Poison Oak, as well as The Last Chance Texaco and Split Screen. Like Dave and his friends, as a teenager he resisted getting a job for as l...
Loading
Title:Geography ClubFormat:PaperbackDimensions:240 pages, 7.12 × 5 × 0.48 inPublished:February 17, 2004Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060012234

ISBN - 13:9780060012236

Appropriate for ages: 13 - 17

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Book I liked this one the best in the series, very true and relate-able for anyone trying to find a safe space to be themselves in high school.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Geography Club A great start to the series. Coming out, and the development of safe spaces in our schools.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It!!!!!! People always say 'I couldn't put it down,' Well this was one of those books. I sat there for six hours reading it from cover to cover. It was so real. The characters seemed like a real group of people with real problems. And what I liked even more about it was that even though the ending had a happy vibe to it, it wasn't all joy, and what you would expect (well maybe it was something that you might expect, but it wasn't what you were hoping for) What more can I say then I absolutly loved it?
Date published: 2006-12-18

Editorial Reviews

“Pitch-perfect. Artful and authentic.”