2019 GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARDS WINNERS

Each year, the Governor General’s Literary Awards honour the best in Canadian literature. As Canada’s national literary awards, the GGLAs represent the rich diversity of Canadian literature and its authors, translators and illustrators. To see the full list of categories and nominees, visit their site at www.ggbooks.ca and see the list of French finalists here .

Five Wives: A Novel
Paperback

|September 3, 2019

$24.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

WINNER OF THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD FOR FICTION A GLOBE AND MAIL , CBC BOOKS, APPLE BOOKS, AND NOW TORONTO BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder , a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women…
To The River: Losing My Brother
Hardcover

|December 31, 2018

$29.95

In stock online

Available in stores

WINNER OF THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD FOR NON-FICTION An eloquent and haunting exploration of suicide in which one of Canada's most gifted writers attempts to understand why his brother took his own life. Which leads him to another powerful question:…
Holy Wild
Paperback

|September 1, 2018

$18.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Winner of the 2019 Governor General?s Literary Award for Poetry Finalist for the 2019 Trillium Book Award for Poetry Finalist for the 2019 Lambda Literary Awards ? Transgender Poetry Category Finalist for the 2019 Publishing Triangle Awards ? Trans and…
Other Side of the Game
Paperback

|May 21, 2019

$17.95

In stock online

Available in stores

I don’t think you can expect society to change if you’re not ready to take the first step. In the 1970s Beverly walks into an office of Black activists, wanting to join the Movement, and has to prove she’s committed enough to fight. Some forty years later, in the…
Birds of a Kind
Paperback

|April 23, 2019

$18.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Is it really important to cling to our lost identities? A terrorist attack in Jerusalem puts Eitan, a young Israeli-German genetic researcher, in a coma, while his girlfriend Wahida, a Moroccan graduate student, is left to uncover his family secret that brought…
Stand on the Sky
Hardcover

|March 5, 2019

$21.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

Stand on the Sky is the 2019 winner of the Governor General's Award for Children's Literature! A gripping new read from Erin Bow, acclaimed and bestselling author of Plain Kate and The Scorpion Rules ! She had always heard that the eagle chooses the eagle hunter.…
Small in the City

by Sydney Smith

Picture Books

|September 1, 2019

$19.95

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

On a snowy day in a big city, a little boy hops off a streetcar and walks through downtown, between office buildings, through parks and down busy streets. Along the way, he provides helpful tips about which alleys make good shortcuts, which trees to climb and…
Vi

$18.95

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores