Girl Out Of Water by Laura SilvermanGirl Out Of Water by Laura Silverman

Girl Out Of Water

byLaura Silverman

Paperback | May 2, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.68 online 
$15.50 list price save 31%
Earn 53 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins. Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footingis to let go.
LAURA SILVERMAN is a debut author. She has an MFA in writing for children at the New School, and lives in Atlanta, Georgia.
Loading
Title:Girl Out Of WaterFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.97 inPublished:May 2, 2017Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492646865

ISBN - 13:9781492646860

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Girl Out of Water is a great, summery contemporary read. It's a sincere story about the confusion and uncertainty around the end of high school, experiencing the world outside of home for the first time, and learning about who you are and who you want to be. The story has a lot of different subplots going on. Home vs. an unfamiliar place, old boy vs. new boy, estranged mom issues, growing distant from friends - it's a lot to take on in one book. I had a strange feeling while reading that, while everything was explored on more than one occasion, I also wanted to dive deeper. For example, Anise's relationship with Lincoln is super adorable. She's full of uncertainty and he's confident, and effectively becomes her solid ground. It's understandable that because we only see them together for a couple of months, there's not a whole lot of time to flesh out their potential, but I would have love to see something a bit more. The ending of the book also was wrapped up very cleanly, and maybe a bit conveniently. I really loved seeing Anise's growth though. She had to deal with a lot of issues in such a small time span, and she handled it all, for the most part, very well. She could come off as a bit judgmental and closed-off but her trip to Nebraska really developed her into a more well-rounded teenager. Another thing I loved was Laura Silverman's ability to make the settings feel so real. I felt such an urge to be around water when Anise was talking about her own pull towards the ocean. I wanna go to California so baddddd! Overall, a really fun, summery story that I wish just got a little bit deeper.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure what the point was of this story I was given this ARC by NetGalley in return for an honest review. I am aware of the circumstances surrounding this book and the author and my sole purpose is to honestly review this story after having read it in its entirety. I had to take a two-day break from reading this story and needed a lot of encouragement from my husband and mom to finish it, because about half way through the book I felt like giving up for good, without possibility of reconsideration. But their encouragement worked wonders. I was intrigued to read a young adult contemporary novel about a sporty young woman, facing personal challenges. Sadly, I am not sure what the point of this story was. The main character, with her personal problems and weaknesses I thought could have been a perfect character for great personal development; however, not much development ever did occur. And the secondary characters were all very well thought out to cater to the main character’s whims. The writing was easy flowing enough to keep me going, even when it got almost too much to bear. Also, for almost 300 pages the author kept repeating that the main character lived in Santa Cruz, loved Santa Cruz, surfed in Santa Cruz, had her friends in Santa Cruz, misses Santa Cruz, and so on and so forth. It got extremely tiresome to keep reading about it. The plot would have been great, if it hadn’t been created around those whims of the main character. It felt like the author was too scared to have the main character actually face real challenges and situations that would force her to change. Every time I thought the main character finally had to face the fact that life can not always be peachy, the plot magically twisted in such a way to make it easier for her. It got monotonous very quickly. Also, no action taken by the main character ever had any consequences, which made this entire story even more unrealistic. Overall, I wanted to give this story a one-star rating, but changed my mind to rate it two-stars, since it could still be entertaining in a fluff-don’t-take-it-too-seriously-beach-read kind of way.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love surfing so this book for me was fantastic. To me it had everything.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Feel Good Summery Read ** I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. ** Those that know me know that I'm not usually a contemporary person. I'll read them but I'll get bored and give them low ratings. Not the case with Girl Out of Water! There were enough events happening throughout the story to really keep my attention which helped me to keep reading. I actually had a hard time putting it down, mostly because it was just a happy book full of adorable things. Sure there was some not so happy events but the whole book had a 'feel good' kind of feeling and that's what made it so addicting. One thing I have to point out is the diversity. Girl Out of Water hit quite a few of those points but it was all so casual which was amazing! A lot of the time book will throw diversity in your face but in Girl Out of Water it was just another addition to the story that made it a fantastic read. I also really loved the sports vibe in this book. Surfing and skateboarding which isn't something I thought would go together but in this story it worked perfectly together. This was generally just a happy book. It made me feel good while reading it and I felt great after finishing. The main character Anise felt her age but she had to mature a little quickly at some parts and she wasn't always graceful about it which made her feel more realistic to me. She was surrounded by her family for most of the book but her friends were around too and they were all these really interesting characters. Definitely a book I'd recommend.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light Summer Read ~Disclaimer~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Girl Out of Water is the story of Anise Sawyer, a 17 year old girl from California. Summer has just started and Anise is looking forward to spending her days surfing and hanging out with her friends. Her plans change when her aunt is in a serious car accident. She has to leave California for Nebraska. where there is no ocean in sight, to help watch her cousins. Anise has never left her hometown before. She love it there so much that she has no pull to go anywhere else. Her mother has never stayed in one place long enough to put down roots. She has been in and out of Anises' life without warning or explanation. Because of this Anise overcompensates by never leaving her home or friends. Leaving California is very hard on Anise at first. Seeing her friends update their social media just reminds her of everything she is missing out on. These feelings make her start to ignore texts and video chats. Alienating herself from her friends and life back home. She feels as though she has nothing to add to the conversation. On a Trip to the park with her cousins Anise meets a boy named Lincoln. He is a skateboarder. She has never respected skateboarding as being a difficult sport. Lincoln bets Anise that she can't leave how to skateboard in one week. She takes the bait and begins to practice. She quickly learns that skateboarding isn't as easy as she thought that it was. As she practices Anise begins to enjoy her time in Nebraska. She even starts to have fun and like spending time with her cousins. This book made me wish that it was summer and that I was on vacation. I could picture myself in the sand on a beach somewhere. This is a good book to read on vacation, the quintessential summer read. I'm not into sports so this book missed the mark with me. It was heavy into sports. There was a lot of talk about surfing and skateboarding. I wasn't drawn in to the story because I couldn't connect with it. This book had sports, summer, teen romance and family angst. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a light easy read with a tiny bit of depth. 3/5 ⭐
Date published: 2017-04-27