The Globe & Mail's Top 100 Books of 2019

The Testaments: A Novel
Hardcover

|September 10, 2019

$26.65 online

$35.00list price

save 23%

In stock online

Available in stores

WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE LONGLISTED FOR THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Margaret Atwood's dystopian masterpiece, The Handmaid's Tale, has become a modern classic—and now she brings the iconic story to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting…
Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know
Hardcover

|September 10, 2019

$28.17 online

$36.99list price

save 23%

In stock online

Available in stores

A Best Book of the Year: The Financial Times, Bloomberg, Chicago Tribune, and Detroit Free Pres Malcolm Gladwell, host of the podcast Revisionist History and author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Outliers , offers a powerful examination of our interactions…
Empire Of Wild
Hardcover

|September 17, 2019

$20.28 online

$29.95list price

save 32%

In stock online

Available in stores

INDIGO'S #1 BEST BOOK OF 2019 NATIONAL BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE MARROW THIEVES, THE #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER, MULTI-AWARD WINNER AND CANADA READS FINALIST "Wildly entertaining and profound and essential." --Tommy Orange, The New York Times…
Sharon, Lois And Bram's Skinnamarink
Hardcover

|September 3, 2019

$13.19 online

$21.99list price

save 40%

In stock online

Available in stores

National bestseller Based on the classic folk song made famous by a beloved trio of children's entertainers, this picture book is best sung aloud! "Skinnamarink" is a timeless anthem of love and inclusion. What does "skinnamarink" mean? You…
Three Women
Hardcover

|July 9, 2019

$26.57 online

$36.00list price

save 26%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 INDIE NEXT PICK A Best Book of the Year: The Washington Post * NPR * The Atlantic * New York Public Library * Vanity Fair * PBS * Time * Economist * Entertainment Weekly * Financial Times * Shelf…
Catch And Kill: Lies, Spies, And A Conspiracy To Protect Predators
Hardcover

|October 15, 2019

$26.69 online

$36.50list price

save 26%

In stock online

Available in stores

In this instant New York Times bestselling account of violence and espionage, Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter Ronan Farrow exposes serial abusers and a cabal of powerful interests hell-bent on covering up the truth, at any cost. In 2017, a routine…
From the Ashes: My Story Of Being Métis, Homeless, And Finding My Way
Paperback

|August 6, 2019

$18.74 online

$24.99list price

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 National Bestseller Finalist, Kobo Emerging Writer Prize Finalist, CBC Canada Reads A Globe and Mail Book of the Year An Indigo Book of the Year A CBC Best Canadian Nonfiction Book of the Year In this extraordinary and inspiring debut memoir, Jesse Thistle,…
Scotty: A Hockey Life Like No Other
Hardcover

|October 29, 2019

$34.95

In stock online

Available in stores

NATIONAL BESTSELLER A hockey life like no other. A hockey book like no other. Scotty Bowman is recognized as the best coach in hockey history, and one of the greatest coaches in all of sports. He won more games and more Stanley Cups than anyone else. Remarkably,…
Someone We Know: A Novel
Paperback

|July 30, 2019

$23.34 online

$24.95list price

save 6%

In stock online

Available in stores

AN INSTANT #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER " No one does suburban paranoia like Shari Lapena." —Ruth Ware, internationally bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10 Maybe you don't know your neighbours as well as you…
Reproduction
Paperback

|September 3, 2019

$21.00

In stock online

Available in stores

WINNER OF THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE NATIONAL BESTSELLER A PENGUIN BOOK CLUB PICK A hilarious, surprising and poignant love story about the way families are invented, told with the savvy of a Zadie Smith and with an inventiveness all Ian Williams' own,…
The Wake: The Deadly Legacy Of A Newfoundland Tsunami
Hardcover

|August 27, 2019

$28.41 online

$32.99list price

save 13%

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

NATIONAL BESTSELLER “Fascinating, infuriating, eloquent and cautionary.” — Postmedia A Globe and Mail , CBC Books and Maclean’s Book of the Year In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in…
The Water Dancer: A Novel
Hardcover

|September 24, 2019

$34.06 online

$37.00list price

save 7%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom. “This potent book about…