Go to Sleep, Little Farm by Mary Lyn RayGo to Sleep, Little Farm by Mary Lyn Ray

Go to Sleep, Little Farm

byMary Lyn RayIllustratorChristopher Silas Neal

Hardcover | September 2, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.71 online 
$23.99 list price
Earn 119 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, Mary Lyn Ray presents a hushed picture book about the rhythm of the natural world on a small farm as all creatures prepare for sleep. Artist Christopher Silas Neal's classic illustrations quiet even the most restless little night owls with familiar childlike imagery and the comforts of routine. All is well, it reminds them. Now is the time for dreams.
Mary Lyn Ray has written many acclaimed books for children, including Go to Sleep, Little Farm, illustrated by Tricia Tusa; New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee; Pumpkins, illustrated by Barry Root; and Red Rubber Boot Day and Mud, both illustrated by Lauren Stringer. She lives in South Danbury, New Hampshi...
Sous les étoiles
Sous les étoiles

by Mary Lyn Ray

$10.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Christmas Farm
Christmas Farm

by Mary Lyn Ray

$22.76$24.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Mud
Mud

by Mary Lyn Ray

$10.94$10.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Go to Sleep, Little FarmFormat:HardcoverDimensions:40 pages, 9 × 10 × 0.42 inPublished:September 2, 2014Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544150147

ISBN - 13:9780544150140

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Go to Sleep, Little Farm

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

* Repeated, pleasingly surreal lines of verse convey the sense of drifting into slumber? a keeper." - Publishers Weekly, starred review "A quiet book for sharing in a cozy setting." -School Library Journal "The blue-hued mixed-media illustrations soothingly depict a farm as it moves from dusk to night and bring a hush to the book-and no doubt its readers as well." - Booklist "Christopher Silas Neal's lovely and serene illustrations, in matte twilight hues of blue and rose, suggest a sparkling nighttime world that is simultaneously vast and cozy. Clearly Ray has worked to make her language dense and [Margaret Wise] Brown-like, and at times you can feel a gentle incantatory force." - The New York Times "The book begins at dusk, the sky slowly going from pink to blue to black and starry, the shadowy gray tones of the illustrations a consummate match for the restful mood of the text." - Horn Book Magazine "