Grey Cup Century by Michael JanuskaGrey Cup Century by Michael Januska

Grey Cup Century

byMichael Januska

Paperback | September 22, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 75 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The biggest single sports and television event in Canada marks its 100th championship in 2012.

The Terrible Tripper of 1957, the 1962 Fog Bowl, Vic Washington's Fabulous Fumble in 1968, Tony Gabriel's Classic Catch in 1976, Henry "Gizmo" Williams's Wild Run in 1987, and Dave Ridgway's Magnificent Kick in 1989 are some of the legendary moments leading up to the 100th Grey Cup game in November 2012 in Toronto. You'll find all of them in Grey Cup Century and much more.

Canadian football has had a long and storied history dating back to the 1860s. In 1909, Earl Grey, the governor general of Canada, donated a trophy to honour the best amateur rugby football club in the country. The first team to win a Grey Cup was the University of Toronto Varsity Blues.

In 1954 the Canadian Football League, a professional organization, took over sole control of the Cup. Since then gridiron giants such as Sam Etcheverry, Norm Kwong, Jackie Parker, Russ Jackson, Ron Lancaster, Lui Passaglia, Doug Flutie, and Michael "Pinball" Clemons have dazzled fans in an annual championship that now attracts as many as six million television viewers.

Michael Januska was born in Windsor, Ontario. He has worked with books his whole life, both as a bookseller and for several book publishing companies. Januska is also an award-winning crime fiction writer. His stories focus mainly on the history of his hometown. He lives in Toronto.
Title:Grey Cup CenturyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:264 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:September 22, 2012Publisher:DundurnLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1459704487

ISBN - 13:9781459704480

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1st Quarter: 1909 – 1927
Chapter One: 1909
    “Undisputed Rugby Champions of the Dominion”
Chapter Two: 1910 – 1920
    The First Great Rivalry: Toronto vs. Hamilton
Chapter Three: 1921 - 1927
    A Challenge from the West

2nd Quarter: 1928 – 1951
Chapter Four: 1928 – 1936
    The Great Depression and Roughrider Pride
Chapter Five: 1937 – 1944
    Wearing Two Uniforms
Chapter Six: 1945 – 1951
    Post-war Boom and the Grey Cup Festival

3rd Quarter: 1952 – 1982
Chapter Seven: 1952 – 1962
    Coming to You Live from Varsity Stadium
Chapter Eight: 1963 – 1976
    Growing Pains, Professionally Speaking
Chapter Nine: 1977 – 1982
    The Edmonton Eskimos Dynasty

4th Quarter: 1983 – 2011
Chapter Ten: 1983 – 1992
    A Decade of Uncertainty
Chapter Eleven: 1993 – 1999
    The American Experiment
Chapter Twelve: 2000 - 2012
    A New Golden Age