Hard Wired

July 7, 2020|
Hard Wired by Len Vlahos
$24.50
Hardcover
Earn 123 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Available in stores

To see store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

"YA science fiction at its best." - Jay Kristoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Aurora Cycle and Illuminae

"A unique and engrossing yarn." - Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Rising Saga

From acclaimed Morris finalist Len Vlahos comes a grounded sci-fi story about a boy who''s more than human, perfect for fans of Westworld and LIFEL1K3.

Quinn thinks he''s a normal fifteen year-old. He plays video games, spends time with his friends, and crushes on a girl named Shea. But a shocking secret brings his entire world crashing down: he''s not a boy. He''s artificial intelligence.

After Quinn "wakes up," he sees his world was nothing more than a virtual construct. He''s the QUantum INtelligence Project, the first fully-aware A.I. in the world--part of a grand multi-billion-dollar experiment led by the very man he believed to be his dead father.

But as Quinn encounters the real world for the first time, his life becomes a nightmare. While the scientists continue to experiment on him, Quinn must come to grips with the truth: his mom and brother don''t exist. His friends are all adults who were paid to hang out with him. Even other super computers aren''t like him. Quinn finds himself completely alone--until he bonds with Shea, the real girl behind the virtual one. As Quinn explores what it means to truly live, he questions who he can trust. What will it take to win his freedom . . . and where does he belong?

Award-winning author Len Vlahos offers a perfect blend of science fiction and contemporary in this unputdownable, high stakes tale that explores big questions about what it means to be human.

Len Vlahos dropped out of NYU film school in the mid ''80s to play guitar and write songs for Woofing Cookies, a punk-pop four piece that toured up and down the East Coast, and had two singles and one full-length LP on Midnight Records. After the band broke up, he followed his other passion, books. He is the author of Life in a Fishbow...
Loading
Title:Hard WiredFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8.25 X 5.51 X 0 inShipping dimensions:320 pages, 8.25 X 5.51 X 0 inPublished:July 7, 2020Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1681190370

ISBN - 13:9781681190372

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: