Heart Of Iron by Ashley PostonHeart Of Iron by Ashley Poston

Heart Of Iron

byAshley Poston

Hardcover | February 27, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.24 online 
$21.99 list price save 12%
Earn 96 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

Ashley Poston loves coffee, moving castles, and starry night skies. A graduate of the University of South Carolina, she earned a degree in English and became a scholar in procrastination. When not in search of her next great adventure, she lives with her bossy cat in rural South Carolina. They are both firm believers that cosmic prince...
Loading
Title:Heart Of IronFormat:HardcoverDimensions:480 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.45 inPublished:February 27, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062652850

ISBN - 13:9780062652850

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3.5/5 - Really enjoyed "Screw fate. I'll tear down the stars for you" *I burst into tears* STOP THE CUTENESS! I really enjoyed this book and the nod to Anastasia. Really excited about the sequel but hopefully it's more thoroughly edited.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An entertaining if not entirely engaging space opera retelling of Anastasia. I never watched Anastasia as a child. I didn't watch really many children's movies as a child as a result of a long story involving Frosty the Snowman. I learned the history of the Romanovs and the Russian revolution well before seeing Anastasia, the widely acclaimed animated feature film. (I was a child with some unusual interests.) I only got around to seeing it a few years ago so I don't have the same sort of nostalgia attached to it that a lot of people probably went into this Space Opera Anastasia retelling with. So it is possible that I just wasn't the target audience. With that in mind, I can confidently say that I... didn't hate it? The thing was that I wasn't really that impressed by it either. I realise that this is a space opera so there's a certain amount of leeway. It's more fantasy than science fiction. But the fact remains that it didn't really set up the parameters of the world. I guess it's just a magical thing that only royalty can hold the crown without it rusting? (With the exception of androids who, as one of the main characters points out, literally within the first 100 pages, which is one heck a legal loophole, and also seemed one heck of a Chekov's gun set-up, so I just kept expecting the android gambit throughout the book. Just. Kept waiting for it). The biggest difficulty for me was that the world wasn't really built up, on either a level of history or scale. It was alright once I got used to it and let go of any expectations I'd gone in with. I didn't love the characters but they were at least consistent within their motivations. They overall just felt very simple? I think things that were supposed to come off as tragic didn't really because I just wasn't that engaged, and I felt like their relationships formed... strangely and for some of them quite fast as well. Rob just... wasn't a very interesting character and also for some reason his name bothered me (I think it was just the spelling), and Ana wasn't much better. It just didn't feel like there was much to them. I didn't dislike them but I didn't get... super attached either. I liked Ana's pirate moms though, they were cool and I hope we get to learn more about them. The story itself was pretty simple, the classic "girl is secretly PRINCESS," story, and, while there were other plot twists I didn't find them all that... surprising. I just kind of kept on going through the story going "ah yes that makes sense" I just didn't find myself having any really strong emotional response to the story. All that said, I did still find the story interesting enough to finish and I'll probably pick up the second book when it comes out, I'm curious about what the author plans to do with some components of the story. Despite my not being super-invested in the characters, I still found following their story entertaining enough, for all it's cliches.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really like this ! I read Heart of Iron in a few hours. It is all Zenith fault for getting me back into YA Science Fiction. A thrilling, fearsome adventurous ride full of space pirates, romance, royalty and conspiracy in the stars! I have read previous novels by Ashley Poston, really enjoying her writing style. I do not regularly read science fiction; however, Ashley release the inspiration of Heart of Iron for readers who are huge fans of Firefly and Princess Anastasia. I just had to grab a copy. I finish the book with an overall liking the book. In general, I am not the biggest fan of multiple POVS. I tend to be engage with one of the points of views and get bore of the rest of the cast. It happen with this book. I careless for Ana and D09, more looking forward to Jaxx and Robb ( I SHIP THEM SO HARD <3). I like this book a lot that I will continue the series.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A BLAST!!! A masterfully written, space pirate, thrill ride. I could not put this book down.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it I loved Ashley Poston's other book Geekerella so I was really looking forward to reading Heart of Iron and I was not disappointed in it. I loved reading this book and can't wait for the second book to come out.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from READ IT!! I pre-ordered this book months ago because it sounded interesting. I had no idea just how much I would love it! I love all the characters, I love the plot, I love the... things that happened!! The writing was beautiful as well, and I love how the author hands out little tidbits of information at a time like puzzle pieces. I have been put off by YA fantasy/sci-fi lately, because so many of them have been too predictable. I did not foresee most of the things that happened in Heart of Iron! I will admit, though, that the editing was a bit rough, especially at the beginning. There were a lot of repeated words, spelling errors and sentences changing from past to present tense. This did tend to pull me out of the story a bit, but things started to flow more smoothly the further I got into the story. If I had to plug Heart of Iron, I'd say it's for fans of The Lunar Chronicles, Throne of Glass and... maybe Firefly. Throw in some LGBTQ characters and some robots and you've got yourself Heart of Iron! While it does have elements of each of these books in it, the overall storyline, especially the ending, is unique and refreshing. I can't wait for Book 2, and to see what happens next and how this band of misfit outlaws is going to fix everything. I don't think I've been this excited over a new series since ACOTAR.
Date published: 2018-02-23

Editorial Reviews

“Fast-paced...will leave readers waiting for the sequel.”