Her Turn

July 27, 2021|
Her Turn by Katherine Ashenburg
sticker-burst
$22.95
Paperback
Earn 115 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

One of The Globe and Mail’s “Summer 2021 books preview: 40 hot reads that will captivate you”
 
One of Maclean’s’ “20 books you should read this summer”
 
For fans of Nora Ephron and Jennifer Weiner, here is Katherine Ashenburg''s witty, contemporary new novel about a forty-something newspaper columnist navigating her bold next chapter, set in Washington against the 2015 US presidential primary.


In the autumn of 2015, forty-something journalist Liz is working at a national newspaper in Washington, D.C., where Hillary Clinton’s run for the presidency is the talk of the town. The divorced parent of a college-age son, she appears to lead a full, happy life: devoted friends, a job she adores, a breezy dating life. But deep inside, Liz is stalled in neutral, stuck in a clandestine affair with her boss and still brooding on her marriage, which ended in betrayal, hurt and anger ten years ago.
 
Liz’s job is to edit “My Turn,” a column of personal essays from readers. Her tidy life is upended when a submission about a marital squabble arrives from Nicole, the woman who had an affair with Liz’s husband and is now his wife. Wife Two has no idea that she is sending an essay to Wife One, and Liz keeps this secret as she engages in an increasingly personal critique of the piece. But the existence of the essay destabilizes Liz, and she starts acting erratically—publishing provocative essays that infuriate her colleagues, investing in a pile of unread self-help books about “forgiveness” and indulging in questionable romantic decisions. Soon she is caught in a tangled web of her own making, with no easy escape.
 
A smart, wise and witty novel with moving depths beneath its delightful surface.
KATHERINE ASHENBURG is the author of several books and many magazine and newspaper articles. She has written for The New York Times, The Globe and Mail and Toronto Life, among other publications. Her books include The Mourner''s Dance: What We Do When People Die, and The Dirt on Clean: An Unsanitized History, which was published in twe...
Loading
Title:Her Turn
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:232 pages, 8.23 X 5.49 X 0.66 in
Shipping dimensions:232 pages, 8.23 X 5.49 X 0.66 in
Published:July 27, 2021
Publisher:Knopf Canada
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780735280762

Recently Viewed
|