Here Comes Valentine Cat by Deborah UnderwoodHere Comes Valentine Cat by Deborah Underwood

Here Comes Valentine Cat

byDeborah Underwood

Other | October 28, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.00 online 
$21.99 list price save 63%
Earn 40 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day—but he’s not interested in giving a valentine to any old dog. This homage to classic comic strips is perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Pigeon books, and of course, Cat’s two previous capers, Here Comes the Easter Cat and Here Comes Santa Cat.
 
Cat does NOT like Valentine's Day. It's much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry "valentine" telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge.
Deborah Underwood is the author several picture books, including the New York Times bestseller The Quiet Book, Bad Bye, Good Bye, and Cat’s other adventures: Here Comes the Easter Cat, Here Comes Santa Cat, and the upcoming Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat. Deborah lives in San Francisco with her cat, Bella, who inspired Cat’s hijinks.  ...
Loading
Title:Here Comes Valentine CatFormat:OtherDimensions:88 pages, 7.27 × 8.32 × 0.64 inPublished:October 28, 2016Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0525429158

ISBN - 13:9780525429159

Bargain Kids' Books

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute book for Valentines day I bought this for my daughter for Valentines day, cute and silly book!
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bedtime favorite My kids think this book is just hilarious. The text is simple and the illustrations allow kids to get an idea of what that cat is thinking. We all love the silly valentine's day poems that Cat writes for Dog. I was so happy with this one that I bought Easter Cat too.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just okay This book doesn't have much substance, a little disappointing .
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't Judge a Dog by it's Bark Cat does not like Valentine’s Day and especially not the new dog next door. Readers will follow cute drawings and simple text to learn that not everything is as it first seems. A great Valentine gift to be read and shared with ages three to five.
Date published: 2016-02-29

Editorial Reviews

"Cat's facial expressions perfectly mimic those of a toddler and are captured within a pleasing soft palette of ink and color pencil drawings. Wry humor and a twist ending make this book a charmer." —The Washington Post* “Wickedly fun as ever—Underwood and Rueda clearly know how well sweet and salty go together.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review“Underwood's endearing, voiceless cat is back, this time getting a lesson in Valentine's Day tact. . . . Rueda masterfully uses white space and Cat's facial expressions and body language . . . for beautifully pitched comic timing. Cat hasn't lost his ability to charm readers, if for no other reason than children are so able to see themselves in him.” —Kirkus Reviews“Fresh and satisfying . . . Empowers kids by positioning them as the narrative voice of reason. . . . Cat is a hoot at the height of his naughtiness, but also he’s poignantly repentant . . . Fans of Cat’s previous books (and even Valentine’s Day–phobes) are likely to fall in love with this series installment.” —BCCB“Creatively presented . . . Humorous . . . The story’s singular narrative style and simple but expressive illustrations will make it a favorite . . . Pair it with Laura Malone Elliott’s A String of Hearts.” —School Library Journal