History Of The Disciples In The Western Reserve by Amos Sutton HaydenHistory Of The Disciples In The Western Reserve by Amos Sutton Hayden

History Of The Disciples In The Western Reserve

byAmos Sutton Hayden

Paperback | January 10, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 155 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


This historic book may have numerous typos, missing text or index. Purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. 1875. Not illustrated. Excerpt: ... CHAPTER IV. Origin of the Church in Warren--Siege of Warren--The Church in Lordstown--Biography of Bentley--Biography of C. Bosworth --East Fairfield--Death of Mitchell. THE Baptist Church in Warren was formed September 3, 1803, by Elder Chas. B. Smith. It consisted of the following ten persons: Isaac R. Dally, Effie Dally, Jane Dally, Saml. Burnett, Nancy Burnett, John Leavitt, Jr., Caleb Jones, Mary Jones, Saml. Fortner, and Henry Fortner. Isaac R. Dally was the deacon, and John Leavitt, Jr., clerk. No elder was appointed, as the Baptist order made no provision for "ruling elders," the preachers only being eligible to that designation. May 5, 1804, they were re-inforced by five additions--Samuel Quimby, Samuel and Sophia Hayden, residing in Youngstown, and Wm. and Martha Jackson. From 1806 to 1810, Elder T. G. Jones preached occasionally to them. May 19, 1810, A. Bentley, then a licentiate minister, was received and ordained the same day. Some of the members residing in Youngstown, it was resolved Jan. 5, 1811, to meet alternately in that town, near Parkhurst's Mills, and in Warren. February 8, 1812, Isaac R. Dally and Saml. Hayden, after being "proved," were ordained as deacons. This church was a parent of churches--Youngstown, Bazetta, Lordstown, and Howland, all sprang from it. January n, 1815, thirteen members were dismissed on application to organize in Youngstown, viz.: Saml. and Sophia Hayden, Benj. and Elizabeth Ross, Wm. and Parthena Dean, Caleb and Mary. Jones, Isaac R. Allee, Saml. Burnett, Lydia Cook, Sarah Morris, and Nancy Jones; which church was formed Lord's day the 19th of April following-- Thos. Rigdon, J. Woodworth, and A. Bentley, officiating. They took the name of " Zoar," (Gen. xix: 20, 22,) that is, "little ;" probably in allusion to the...
Title:History Of The Disciples In The Western ReserveFormat:PaperbackDimensions:130 pages, 9.69 × 7.44 × 0.28 inPublished:January 10, 2012Publisher:General Books LLCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0217831389

ISBN - 13:9780217831383