We found 1372 results for “


Showing 1 - 12 of 1372 Results
Paperback

$19.54 online

$21.95

save 10%

In stock online

Available in stores

1939: the Germans have invaded Poland. The keepers of the Warsaw zoo, Jan and Antonina Zabinski, survive the bombardment of the city, only to see the occupiers ruthlessly kill many of their animals. The Nazis then carry off the prized specimens to Berlin for…
Hardcover

$23.16 online

$38.00

save 39%

In stock online

Available in stores

One of our most important public intellectuals reveals the hidden history of our current global crisis How can we explain the origins of the great wave of paranoid hatreds that seem inescapable in our close-knit world-from American shooters and ISIS to Donald…

In stock online

Available in stores

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Romanov Sisters , Caught in the Revolution is Helen Rappaport's masterful telling of the outbreak of the Russian Revolution through eye-witness accounts left by foreign nationals who saw the drama unfold. Between…

In stock online

Available in stores

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes , the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. While the Nazi party was…
Hardcover

$31.85 online

$37.00

save 13%

In stock online

Available in stores

A witty, irreverent tour of history's worst plagues-from the Antonine Plague, to leprosy, to polio-and a celebration of the heroes who fought them In 1518, in a small town in Alsace, Frau Troffea began dancing and didn't stop. She danced until she was carried…
Hardcover

$32.23 online

$34.99

save 7%

Pre-order online

Available in stores

Interweaving his account of the Steven Avery trial at the heart of Making a Murderer with other high profile cases from his criminal defense career, attorney Jerome F. Buting explains the flaws in America’s criminal justice system and lays out a…
Hardcover

$36.25 online

$45.50

save 20%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

A riveting account of ancient Rome’s imperial bodyguard, the select band of soldiers who wielded the power to make—or destroy—the emperors they served Founded by Augustus around 27 B.C., the elite Praetorian Guard was tasked with the protection…
Paperback

$18.63 online

$21.00

save 11%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Christopher R. Browning’s shocking account of how a unit of average middle-aged Germans became the cold-blooded murderers of tens of thousands of Jews—now with a new afterword and additional photographs. Ordinary Men is the true story of Reserve…
Hardcover

$40.93 online

$45.99

save 11%

In stock online

Not available in stores

In this compelling history of the men and ideas that radically changed the course of world history, Lawrence James investigates and analyses how, within a hundred years, Europeans persuaded and coerced Africa into becoming a subordinate part of the modern world.…

The Home That Was Our Country: A Memoir of Syria

by Alia Malek

|This title releases February 28, 2017

Hardcover

$29.98 online

$36.50

save 17%

Pre-order online

Available in stores

At the Arab Spring's hopeful start, Alia Malek returned to Damascus to reclaim her grandmother's apartment, which had been lost to her family since Hafez al-Assad came to power in 1970. Its loss was central to her parent's decision to make their lives in…
Paperback

$38.82 online

$42.95

save 9%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Unrivalled and wholly immersive, Orlando Figes's A People’s Tragedy is a panorama of Russian society on the eve of the revolution and the story of its violent erasure. 100th Anniversary Edition Includes New Introduction In this acclaimed account, Figes…
Paperback

$22.29 online

$25.00

save 10%

In stock online

Not available in stores

Since the collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia's army has undergone a turbulent transformation: from the scattered leftovers of the old Soviet military, through a period of shocking decay and demoralization, to the disciplined force and sophisticated "hybrid…