5619 results for

history

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
History
New This Month
1 - 12 of 5619 Results
Top Matches
Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20th Century
Hardcover

|November 15, 2017

$10.00 online

$34.00

save 70%

In stock online

Available in stores

The extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Bryson's A Short History of Nearly Everything .      Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that…
The Arabs: A History
Paperback

|November 7, 2017

$27.34 online

$28.99

save 5%

In stock online

Available in stores

Named Best Book of the Year by the Financial Times , the Economist and the Atlantic In this definitive history of the modern Arab world, award-winning historian Eugene Rogan draws extensively on five centuries of Arab sources to place the Arab experience in its…
Claiming Crimea: A History Of Catherine The Great's Southern Empire
Hardcover

|This title releases November 28, 2017

$76.05 online

$84.50

save 10%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Russia’s long-standing claims to Crimea date back to the eighteenth-century reign of Catherine II. Historian Kelly O’Neill has written the first archive-based, multi-dimensional study of the initial “quiet conquest” of a region that has…
History
Thomas Jefferson And The Tripoli Pirates: The Forgotten War That Changed American History

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

“Another blockbuster! Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates reads like an edge-of-your-seat, page-turning thriller. You will love this book and also wonder why so few people know this story. No one captures the danger, intrigue, and drama of the American…
History Decoded: The 10 Greatest Conspiracies of All Time
Hardcover

|November 20, 2017

$10.00 online

$37.95

save 73%

In stock online

Available in stores

It's an irresistible combination: Brad Meltzer, a born storyteller, counting down the world's most intriguing unsolved mysteries. And to make this richly illustrated book even richer, each chapter invites the reader along for an interactive experience…
Till Time's Last Sand: A History Of The Bank Of England 1694-2013
Hardcover

|November 14, 2017

$76.31 online

$99.00

save 22%

In stock online

Available in stores

The authorised history of the Bank of England by the bestselling David Kynaston, 'the most entertaining historian alive' ( Spectator ). 'Not an ordinary bank, but a great engine of state,' Adam Smith declared of the Bank of England as long ago as 1776. The…
Stormtroopers: A New History Of Hitler's Brownshirts
Hardcover

|November 7, 2017

$37.80 online

$42.50

save 11%

In stock online

Available in stores

The first full history of the Nazi Stormtroopers whose muscle brought Hitler to power, with revelations concerning their longevity and their contributions to the Holocaust Germany’s Stormtroopers engaged in a vicious siege of violence that propelled the…
Forgotten Continent: A History Of The New Latin America
Paperback

|November 14, 2017

$21.66 online

$23.50

save 7%

In stock online

Available in stores

A newly updated edition of the best-selling primer on the social, political, and economic challenges facing Central and South America Ten years after its first publication, Michael Reid’s best-selling survey of the state of contemporary Latin America has…
Ghosts: A Haunted History
Paperback

|November 15, 2017

$20.95

In stock online

Available in stores

From that cheerful puff of smoke known as Casper to the hunkiest potter living or dead, Sam Wheat, there is probably no more iconic entity in supernatural history than the ghost. And these are just recent examples. From the earliest writings such as the Epic of…
David McCullough: Great Achievements in American History: The Great Bridge, The Path Between the…

In stock online

Not available in stores

From "one of our most gifted living writers" ( The Washington Post ), three great stories of American accomplishment—the building of the Brooklyn Bridge, the construction of the Panama Canal, and the invention of flight—all collected in one volume.…
Ireland and the Anglo-Norman Church: A History of Ireland and Irish Christianity From the Anglo…

In stock online

Not available in stores

To Kill A Sultan: A Transnational History Of The Attempt On Abdülhamid Ii (1905)

In stock online

Not available in stores

Loading