We found 377 results for “


Showing 1 - 12 of 377 Results

In stock online

Available in stores

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Romanov Sisters , Caught in the Revolution is Helen Rappaport's masterful telling of the outbreak of the Russian Revolution through eye-witness accounts left by foreign nationals who saw the drama unfold. Between…

In stock online

Available in stores

"A most valuable book." — Christian Science Monitor For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes , the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the…
Hardcover

$31.85 online

$37.00

save 13%

In stock online

Available in stores

A witty, irreverent tour of history's worst plagues-from the Antonine Plague, to leprosy, to polio-and a celebration of the heroes who fought them In 1518, in a small town in Alsace, Frau Troffea began dancing and didn't stop. She danced until she was carried…
Hardcover

$32.23 online

$34.99

save 7%

Pre-order online

Available in stores

Interweaving his account of the Steven Avery trial at the heart of Making a Murderer with other high profile cases from his criminal defense career, attorney Jerome F. Buting explains the flaws in America’s criminal justice system and lays out a…
Hardcover

$36.25 online

$45.50

save 20%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

A riveting account of ancient Rome’s imperial bodyguard, the select band of soldiers who wielded the power to make—or destroy—the emperors they served Founded by Augustus around 27 B.C., the elite Praetorian Guard was tasked with the protection…

The Home That Was Our Country: A Memoir of Syria

by Alia Malek

|This title releases February 28, 2017

Hardcover

$29.98 online

$36.50

save 17%

Pre-order online

Available in stores

At the Arab Spring's hopeful start, Alia Malek returned to Damascus to reclaim her grandmother's apartment, which had been lost to her family since Hafez al-Assad came to power in 1970. Its loss was central to her parent's decision to make their lives in…
Hardcover

$40.93 online

$45.99

save 11%

In stock online

Not available in stores

In this compelling history of the men and ideas that radically changed the course of world history, Lawrence James investigates and analyses how, within a hundred years, Europeans persuaded and coerced Africa into becoming a subordinate part of the modern world.…
Paperback

$28.53 online

$30.00

In stock online

Available in stores

How Toronto's own city farms were crowded out First settled in the early nineteenth century, the area now known as Don Mills retained its rural character until the end of the Second World War. After the war, population growth resulted in pressure to develop the…
Paperback

$26.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Nancy Turner describes more than 150 plants traditionally harvested and eaten by First Peoples east of the Coast Mountains in British Columbia and northern Washington. Each description includes information on where to find the plant and a discussion on…

In stock online

Not available in stores

Nazism triumphed in Germany during the high era of Jim Crow laws in the United States. Did the American regime of racial oppression in any way inspire the Nazis? The unsettling answer is yes. In Hitler's American Model , James Whitman presents a detailed…

In stock online

Not available in stores

Luminary journalists Ed Murrow, Martha Gellhorn, Walter Cronkite, and Clare Hollingworth were among the young reporters who chronicled World War II’s daily horrors and triumphs for Western readers. In this fascinating book, Ray Moseley, himself a former…
Paperback

$38.82 online

$42.95

save 9%

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Unrivalled and wholly immersive, Orlando Figes's A People’s Tragedy is a panorama of Russian society on the eve of the revolution and the story of its violent erasure. 100th Anniversary Edition Includes New Introduction In this acclaimed account, Figes…