Hollywood's Exploited

Paperback | February 15, 2012

EditorRichard Van Heertum

not yet rated|write a review
Hollywood's Exploited is an interdisciplinary anthology that provides a compelling analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts and the larger industry and society in which they develop.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$48.30 online
$48.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Hollywood's Exploited is an interdisciplinary anthology that provides a compelling analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts and the larger industry and society in which they develop.

Benjamin Frymer is an assistant professor of Sociology in the Hutchins School of Liberal Studies at Sonoma State University. Tony Kashani is an associate professor of Film & Media Studies at College of San Mateo and adjunct faculty member at Kaplan University, where he teaches Ethics. Anthony J. Nocella, II is completing his doctoral ...

other books by Richard Van Heertum

Hollywood's Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movies, and Cultural Crisis
Hollywood's Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movie...

Kobo ebook|Nov 14 2010

$30.39 online$39.45list price(save 22%)
Format:PaperbackDimensions:270 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 0.57 inPublished:February 15, 2012Publisher:Palgrave MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:023062359X

ISBN - 13:9780230623590

Look for similar items by category:


Extra Content

Table of Contents

Foreword - Lawrence Grossberg * Preface - Toby Miller * Introduction - Benjamin Frymer, Tony Kashani, Anthony J. Nocella, II and Richard Van Heertum * PART I: HOLLYWOOD & IDEOLOGY * The Imperial System in Media Culture - Carl Boggs * Hollywood and the Working Class Hero: Diamonds in the Mean Streets of Boston - Richard Van Heertum * Hollywood’s Missionary Agenda: Christonormativity and Audience Baptism - Shirley R. Steinberg * Hollywood Incarcerated and on Death Row: Bjork, Schwarzenegger and the Pedagogy of Retribution * Richard Van Heertum * PART II: HOLLYWOOD RE-PRESENTS THE OTHER * From Ms. J. to Ms. G.: Analyzing Racial Microaggressions in Hollywood’s Urban School Genre - Tara J. Yosso and David Gumaro García * Hollywood’s Cinema of Ableism: A Disability Studies Perspective on the Hollywood Industrial Complex * Tony Kashani and Anthony J. Nocella, II * International Citizenry in the Age of the Spectacle - Shoba Sharad Rajgopal * LGBT-Themed Hollywood Cinema after Brokeback Mountain: Renegotiating Hegemonic Representations of Gay Men - Michael A. Raffanti * PART III: HOLLYWOOD AGES * Modes of Youth Exploitation in the Cinema of Larry Clark - Douglas Kellner * 16 and Pregnant: Media Mommy Tracking and Hollywood’s Exploitation of Teen Pregnancy - Caroline K. Kaltefleiter * About Schmidt and About the Hollywood Image of an Aging Actor - Karen E. Riggs * PART IV: HOLLYWOOD BEYOND THE HUMAN * Ecological Connections and Contradictions: Penguins, Robots and Humans in Hollywood's 'Nature' Films - Salma Monani and Andrew Hageman * Hollywood and Nonhuman Animals: Problematic Ethics of Corporate Cinema - Tony Kashani

Editorial Reviews

'This is an important text that sheds a powerful new light on the exploitation industry we have come to know as Hollywood. It is a book that demands a close reading.' - Peter McLaren, Professor of Urban Schooling, University of California, Los Angeles'A rich and varied collection of commentaries, offering insightful critiques and sociological sensibilities. Of interest to ordinary film buffs and cinematic specialists alike.' - Michael Parenti, author of Make-Believe Media and Contrary Notions'For readers of Hollywood's Exploited, the wisdom will be gained, not received. Against conventional grains, this is an anthology of thoughtful inquiries and tough-minded assessments – challenging us to think anew, and more deeply, about what we see in movies.' - Norman Solomon, author of The Habits of Highly Deceptive Media; War Made Easy; and The Trouble with Dilbert'This smart collection reminds us that whatever reality we might observe and investigate is merely the starting point of thought, struggle, and action; standing directly next to whatever the case may be is always what the case could be or should be. Frymer, Kashani, Nocella, and Van Heertum have assembled a mighty chorus urging us to go beneath surface meanings and instant impressions, official policies and commercial messages, political propaganda, controlling myths, received wisdom and the dogma of common sense. We begin to understand, then, the root causes and social context of the taken-for-granted all around us. This is a call-to-arms.' - William Ayers, Distinguished Professor of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago and author of To Teach'This book offers the clearest evidence yet of how a supposedly 'liberal' Hollywood trades in racial, sexual, and other stereotypes as a matter of course, and why such portrayals of marginalized and otherwise disempowered groups have a profound impact on the public's appreciation of the various forms of social and political discrimination they still face.' - Mark LeVine, Professor of Middle Eastern History, University of California, Irvine and author of Why They Don't Hate Us and Heavy Metal Islam