Horrorstor: A Novel

Paperback | September 23, 2014

byGrady Hendrix

not yet rated|write a review
Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.
 
To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.
 
A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.29 online
$14.95 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.   To unravel the mystery, three employe...

Grady Hendrix has written for Variety, Slate, the New York Post, Playboy, Village Voice, Strange Horizons, and the anthology The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination. He spent several years answering the phone for a parapsychological research organization. He is currently employed by Orsk, Manhattan.

other books by Grady Hendrix

My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel
My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel

Hardcover|May 17 2016

$19.71 online$21.99list price(save 10%)
Dirt Candy: A Cookbook: Flavor-forward Food From The Upstart New York City Vegetarian Restaurant
Dirt Candy: A Cookbook: Flavor-forward Food From The Up...

Paperback|Aug 21 2012

$18.53 online$23.99list price(save 22%)
Horrorstör: A Novel
Horrorstör: A Novel

Audio Book (CD)|Sep 23 2014

$34.66 online$38.95list price(save 11%)
see all books by Grady Hendrix
Format:PaperbackDimensions:240 pages, 8.75 × 7.35 × 0.6 inPublished:September 23, 2014Publisher:Quirk BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1594745269

ISBN - 13:9781594745263

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really fun read If you love Horror, comedy, finding your own furniture, building it yourself and not having enough pieces then you'll love this book! Super fun read.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horrorstor A creepy story with great reread ability . Ever worked in retail? Then this is right up your alley. You will love all the twists and turns.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horror story/store It's a pity this fell victim to your typical run-of-the-mill horror clich?s - hundreds of hands reaching out of iron grates, rats swarming around, creepy crawlies of nightmares that come to haunt, fingernails pulled out in torture. "Horrorst?r" started off with a quirky introduction and took almost half the book laying some groundwork before things turned nasty for the characters (exciting for me). I was genuinely rattled at that point and was hoping it would keep up, but then it just descended into a weak plot using cheap scares ineffectively. That being said, it has a neat package that will surely entice people to pick it up and give it a go. It worked on me. Masquerading the novel as a furniture catalogue is ingenious, and having furniture descriptors and even an order form in it adds an authentic element. It ended on a pretty good note that left me wondering of a sequel. If it can get past any possible litigations, an adapted serialized production of "Horrorst?r" would be something I would watch, and as a book, it is a passable read as something quick and digestible.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just fun to read! My annual fall visit to a large flat pack furniture company with a Swedish sounding name (c'mon you know who I mean right?) is around the corner. When I saw the cover of Grady Hendrix's new book, Horrorst?r, I knew I absolutely had to read it. Things are happening in the night at the Orsk furniture store in Cleveland Ohio. When the staff arrives in the morning, there's broken glass to clean up, broken display furniture and some unmentionable smells and substances. And the staff are getting weird 'help' text messages on their phones. The security tapes don't show anything, but sales are down and corporate is concerned. So Basil, the new deputy store manager decides to stay in the store overnight to see if he can catch who is doing the damage. He enlists Amy, a partner with a bit of an attitude and cashier Ruth Ann, the nicest person in the store, to stay overnight with him. And what happens that night...... .....is something you're going to have to discover for yourself. I had so much fun reading this book - Hendrix clearly wrote it with his tongue planted firmly in his cheek. The format is exactly like that unnamed store's catalogue - the furniture, names, descriptions and pictures preceding every chapter were just as much fun as the story. (I was quite amused by some of the colour choices available - night beech, snow and beaver oak) But what had me laughing was the 'corporate speak'. Having worked in a big box retail store in years gone by, I recognized much of it. Basil's quoting of policies and procedures as things go from bad to worse is just perfect. Hendrix's parodying of that other store is just perfect - the Bright and Shining Path that leads you through the shopping experience, the "Market Floor - also referred to as the 'open-wallet' area - designed to put customers under the maximum retail stress. The goal is to get them to open their wallets and buy something, even a light bulb, because once we crack their wallets, they will spend, on average $97 per visit." (Guilty) Okay so there's all that - but what is causing all the damage at night? Think Scooby Doo - without the dog and a little nastier.... I'll say it again - this was just plain fun to read! Is there a humourous horror genre? Any questions? Just Orsk!
Date published: 2014-10-08

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“...Hendrix is an engaging writer...”—Santa Fe New Mexican“Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror.”—Washington Post“...the book’s packaging as a catalog—complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names—gives it a charmingly oddball allure.”—Publishers Weekly“...Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery...”—Nerdist   “If you’ve ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you’ll get a laugh out of Hendrix’s spoof mystery.”—New York Post   “...disarming...”—Wall Street Journal   “...wildly fun and outrageously inventive...”—Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review“A fun horror novel....Enjoyable....There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well.”—Library Journal   “A very clever ghost story....the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog”—Booklist   “...a clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews