Hortensio and the Magic Stories by Elena D. Calin

Hortensio and the Magic Stories

byElena D. Calin

Kobo ebook | December 15, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The first story, “Cloudy”, depicts a cloud becoming friends with a bird while overcoming his doubts about himself. The Storyteller is shooting the entire story with a camera and is also one of the characters. Cloudy is a melancholic cloud who becomes very happy at the end of the story after asking for an advice from his new bird friend.

The second story, “The Stone, Peli and Pag”, is about a pelican, a parrot and a talking stone. The pelican and the parrot are best friends. While flying, they decide to land on some rocks, without knowing that those were the favorite rocks of a mighty power.

The third story, “The Boy and the Laughing Owls”, is about a red haired boy who likes to write and is angry from time to time. He encounters some magical owls while searching for a place to be alone in the forest. They stay together for some time with the purpose to write a book together. At the end of the story the boy understands the importance of friendship.

The forth story, “Shiny and Goldy”, has as main protagonists a grain made of gold and one made of diamond. The story talks about the time when the diamond grain also polished himself like his brother, the golden grain. The fact was that diamonds shine much brighter than gold, therefore all kinds of funny situations occur due to this. In the end, the golden grain understands that family warmth comes first.

The fifth story, “The Nerd Dragon”, is about a dragon, a hippopotami and a colored bird. The dragon wants to read an encyclopedia but he loses the book in the forest. He searches for the book without knowing that the hippopotami had found it and taken it. He meets the colored bird on his way and all three become very good friends until the end of the story.

The sixth story, “Cups of Ice Cream”, is about two cups of ice cream - one that is natural and one made of plastic, that are living together in a house, as friends. The natural cup of ice cream sells ice cream to moody kids who are not easy to please.

The seventh story, “Flamingo”, presents a dancing flamingo and three frogs looking at him. The set of the story is a swamp. The flamingo receives a package at one point which makes him very happy. But in general, he is very happy by nature; he sings and dances all the time.

The eighth story, “The Magic Girl”, is about a kingdom, a King, a Queen and their new born baby girl. The plot of the story is mainly about searching a name for the new born princess which is revealed to them at the last moment.

The ninth story, “Susan and the Butterfly”, is about a black-eye Susan flower and an immortal butterfly who really likes her. In the year of our story the flower blooms in a different part of the field, therefore the butterfly has a hard time in finding her again.

The tenth story, “Hortensio the Colored Snail”, the story that gives the name of the book, is about a very colored snail who lives in a gray world. Hortensio’s mother sends him with Clara`s help, from his home village to the big city, to accomplish something great in his life. Until the end of the story Hortensio colors the entire gray world with all of his wonderful colors.

Title:Hortensio and the Magic StoriesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 15, 2012Publisher:Elena D. CalinLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1301116483

ISBN - 13:9781301116485