House Of Glass by Pramoedya Ananta ToerHouse Of Glass by Pramoedya Ananta Toer

House Of Glass

byPramoedya Ananta ToerTranslated byMax Lane

Paperback | July 1, 1997

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 105 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


With House Of Glass comes the final chapter of Pramoedya's epic quartet, set in the Dutch East Indies at the turn of the century. A novel of heroism, passion, and betrayal, it provides a spectacular conclusion to a series hailed as one of the great works of modern literature. At the start of House of Glass, Minke, writer and leader of the dissident movement, is now imprisoned—and the narrative has switched to Pangemanann, a former policeman, who has the task of spying and reporting on those who continue the struggle for independence. But the hunter is becoming the hunted. Pangemanann is a victim of his own conscience and has come to admire his adversaries. He must decide whether the law is to safeguard the rights of the people or to control the people. He fears the loss of his position, his family, and his self-respect. At last Pangemanann sees that his true opponents are not Minke and his followers, but rather the dynamism and energy of a society awakened.
Pramoedya Ananta Toer, born on the island of Java in 1925, was imprisoned first by the Dutch, then by the Indonesian government as a political prisoner. He received the PEN Freedom to Write Award and the Ramon Magsaysay Award.
Title:House Of GlassFormat:PaperbackPublished:July 1, 1997Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140256792

ISBN - 13:9780140256796

Appropriate for ages: 18 - 18

Look for similar items by category:


From Our Editors

With "House of Glass", the fourth volume in the Buru Quartet, Indonesian writer and dissident Pramoedya Ananta Toer concludes his epic of Indonesian nationhood. Here, the story of Minke, the talented, bold, and imaginative native leader, told in the preceding books--"This Earth of Mankind, Child of All Nations", and "Footsteps"--takes a dramatic new form