House Of Ivy & Sorrow

Paperback | April 15, 2014

byNatalie Whipple

not yet rated|write a review

Transparent author Natalie Whipple is back with another refreshing blend of realistic romance and light-hearted humor with a one-of-a-kind paranormal touch. Fans of Charmed, Kiersten White's Paranormalcy trilogy, and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys won't want to miss this spellbinding contemporary tale of magic, first love, and high-stakes danger.

Jo Hemlock is not your typical witch. Outside the walls of her grandmother's ivy-covered house, she's kept her magical life completely separate from her life in high school. But when the Curse that killed her mother resurfaces, it threatens to destroy not only her life but her grandmother's too—and keeping her secret may no longer be an option.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.27 online
$12.50 list price (save 9%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Transparent author Natalie Whipple is back with another refreshing blend of realistic romance and light-hearted humor with a one-of-a-kind paranormal touch. Fans of Charmed, Kiersten White's Paranormalcy trilogy, and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys won't want to miss this spellbinding contemporary tale of magic, first love, and high...

From the Jacket

They say a witch lives in the old house under the bridge. . . . What the residents of Willow's End don't know is that there are two witches living in the crumbling old house draped in ivy. Ancient, toothless Dorothea Hemlock . . . and her seventeen-year-old granddaughter, Josephine. Jo has always managed to keep her magical life separ...

Natalie Whipple loves testing new concoctions in the kitchen, and sometimes pretends she's actually mixing potions instead. Her food has yet to curse anyone, which she supposes is a good thing. Along with cooking, Natalie loves anime, kdrama, drawing, and exercising (so she can eat more food). She lives in Utah with her three kids and ...

other books by Natalie Whipple

Transparent
Transparent

Kobo ebook|May 21 2013

$11.99

Trust Me, I'm A Ninja
Trust Me, I'm A Ninja

Kobo ebook|Aug 18 2014

$5.20

Back Off, I'm A Ninja
Back Off, I'm A Ninja

Kobo ebook|Aug 30 2016

$5.24

see all books by Natalie Whipple
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:April 15, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062120182

ISBN - 13:9780062120182

Customer Reviews of House Of Ivy & Sorrow

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good solid read! The story was really exciting, trying to find out who was trying to kill her entire family? That mystery just unraveled so quickly, so I was never ever bored. The beginning was good until it started going downhill. I just couldn't fathom some of her rash decisions. That's on me, not the character since she is a teen and is allowed to make all the mistakes but I just couldn't not unsee all the chaos that was shot at her at every turn. I liked the witchy world that was built and I was never bored but even though those aspects were strong, I still felt that everything was just so out of proportion. And the thing is, it felt like everything that happened was deliberate. It didn't flow as much as I wanted it to be, but that's just me being super duper picky. There was one scene where Josephine has to do something to save her friend..I found it to be so ridiculous at one point that I had to laugh out loud. But there are also good things about it. I pretty much liked how tight Josephine, Gwen and Kat were. They're the best of friends that you could depend on and trust. The talking cat was a nice touch and I thought it was adorable. Overall, pick this one up if you like your witches and magic woven within a romance and a strong friendship. I say it's still a good solid read to pick up!
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hooked at page 1 Josephine Hemlock is a witch who, along with her grandmother, has been hiding from the thing that killed her mother ten years ago. Just as things seem to be going perfectly for Jo, the magic barriers are strong, her grandmother agrees to stop interfering between her and her crush, said crush asks her out, a man shows up at her home looking for her mother. The Curse she's been hiding from is getting closer and Jo's not sure if she can protect everyone she loves. This book caught my attention right away with the opening paragraph. The spin on witch lore is really interesting and I found it hard to put the book down. The biggest problem I had was at times it moved a little too fast. I could still follow the plot without a problem but a little slower pace and more details might have given a clearer picture. I really liked the main character, Jo. She was a my life is what it is kind of girl. She had to keep secrets from her best friends, collect some pretty gross things for spells, and her grandmother liked to interfering when her crush got too close. Instead of being a brat and whining 'why me!', she just accepted it. I also really liked the friendship between Jo, Kat, and Gwen. It was nice to see female friendship getting more focus than romance(though there is a romance). It was easy to tell how much they all cared for each other. The romance between her and Winn was sweet but I found it a little hard to get overly invested in it. There was just so much other stuff going on that it took a backseat to other things I cared about more. The opening paragraph, as mentioned, was fantastic. It was something right out of a fairy tale. The world created was really interesting as well. It definitely showed the darker side of magic, how it isn't free and spells can't work without some sort of a sacrifice. This seems to be a stand-alone but if a companion was ever written following one of the other characters, I would definitely be interested. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2014-01-20

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A delightfully different, suspenseful YA escape.”