How Labour Governments Fall: From Ramsay Macdonald to Gordon Brown by T. HeppellHow Labour Governments Fall: From Ramsay Macdonald to Gordon Brown by T. Heppell

How Labour Governments Fall: From Ramsay Macdonald to Gordon Brown

byT. HeppellEditorK. Theakston

Hardcover | August 9, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$123.50 online 
$131.50 list price save 6%
Earn 618 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Bringing together a collaboration of leading specialists in Labour Party history, this edited collection provides a detailed and accessible analysis of what has led to the demise of respective Labour governments from Ramsay MacDonald to Gordon Brown. In doing so this volume provides engaging comparisons between Labour governments considering both external and internal factors which includes the importance of themes such as economic performance; political leadership; party unity; policy direction and the condition of the Conservatives in opposition. The result is a powerful and thought-provoking volume that provides a context in which the reader can place the fall of the Labour government under Gordon Brown in 2010. The book is required reading for students and scholars of British Political History and Labour Party History.

Dr. Timothy Heppell is Associate Professor of British Politics within the School of Politics and International Studies (POLIS) at the University of Leeds, UK. He is the author of Choosing the Labour Leader: From Wilson to Brown (I. B. Tauris, 2010) and editor of Leaders of the Opposition: From Churchill to Cameron (Palgrave, 2012). Pr...
Title:How Labour Governments Fall: From Ramsay Macdonald to Gordon BrownFormat:HardcoverDimensions:186 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0.76 inPublished:August 9, 2013Publisher:Palgrave MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230361803

ISBN - 13:9780230361805

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Notes on Contributors
List of Figures and Tables
1. Introduction; Timothy Heppell and Kevin Theakston
2. The Fall of the First MacDonald Government 1924; Keith Laybourn
3. The Fall of the Second MacDonald Government 1931; Chris Wrigley
4. The Fall of the Attlee Government 1951; Robert Crowcroft and Kevin Theakston
5. The Fall of the Wilson Government 1970; Peter Dorey
6. The Fall of the Callaghan Government 1979; John Shepherd
7. The Fall of the Brown Government 2010; Timothy Heppell
8 Conclusion; Timothy Heppell and Kevin Theakston

Editorial Reviews

To come