How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do

How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do

Paperback | April 27, 2010

bySharon Moalem

not yet rated|write a review

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.”
— Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

"How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag."
O magazine

Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner’s Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.95 online
$16.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do

Paperback | April 27, 2010
In stock online Not available in stores
$16.95 online $16.99

From the Publisher

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.” — Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History "How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag." —O magazine Me...

From the Jacket

Why are women biologically driven to find Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome?Can more sex help ensure a safe pregnancy?What effect does pornography have on a man's fertility?Dr. Sharon Moalem, author of the New York Times bestseller Survival of the Sickest, takes us on a trip from prehistory to the forefront of cutting-edge medical research—...

Dr. Sharon Moalem is an award-winning neurologist and evolutionary biologist, with a PhD in human physiology. His research brings evolution, genetics, biology, and medicine together to explain how the body works in new and fascinating ways. He and his work have been featured on CNN, in theNew York Times, onThe Daily Show with Jon Stewa...

other books by Sharon Moalem

The Dna Restart: Unlock Your Personal Genetic Code To Eat For Your Genes, Lose Weight, And Reverse…
The Dna Restart: Unlock Your Personal Genetic Code To E...

Hardcover|Sep 6 2016

$28.62 online$31.50list price(save 9%)
Survival Of The Sickest: The Surprising Connections Between Disease and Longevity
Survival Of The Sickest: The Surprising Connections Bet...

Paperback|Mar 18 2008

$19.95 online$19.99list price
Inheritance: How Our Genes Change Our Lives--and Our Lives Change Our Genes
Inheritance: How Our Genes Change Our Lives--and Our Li...

Paperback|Sep 1 2015

$13.65 online$20.99list price(save 34%)
see all books by Sharon Moalem
Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.65 inPublished:April 27, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061479667

ISBN - 13:9780061479663

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“HOW SEX WORKS is a must-buy for anyone interested in the ins and outs of why, psychologically and biologically, sex is about much, much more than the mere birds and bees.”