How The One-armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel

July 15, 2022|
How The One-armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel by Cherie Jones
$18.99
Paperback
Earn 95 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Out of stock online.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter’s Tunnels. When she’s grown-up, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men, driven into the Tunnels by desperation and greed, who attempt a crime that may cost them their freedom—and their lives.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives across race and class in a rapidly changing resort town, told by an astonishing new author of literary fiction.

Title:How The One-armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:288 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.68 in
Shipping dimensions:288 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.68 in
Published:July 15, 2022
Publisher:HarperCollins
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781443460439

Recently Viewed
|