How to Be a Girl in the World

August 11, 2020|
How to Be a Girl in the World
$9.99
Kobo ebook
Available for download

about

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a poignant coming-of-age novel about the complicated parts of growing up, finding your voice, and claiming your space. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Laurel Snyder, or Ali Benjamin!

Lydia hasn’t felt comfortable in her own skin since the boys at her school started commenting on the way she looks in her uniform. Her cousin and friends think she should be flattered, but the boys—and sometimes her mom’s boyfriend, Jeremy—make Lydia uncomfortable and confused. Even more confusing is when Jeremy hovers too close and hugs a little too long.

Then her mom surprises her by buying a dilapidated house in their neighborhood. Lydia hopes to find a little bit of magic in their new home. But just like the adults in her life, and God, and her friends, the magic Lydia deeply believes in eventually loses its power to keep her safe.

And as seventh grade begins, Lydia wonders: Is there a secret to figuring out how to be a girl in the world?

Title:How to Be a Girl in the WorldFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:August 11, 2020Publisher:Quill Tree BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006267272X

ISBN - 13:9780062672728

Appropriate for ages: 6 - 8

Look for similar items by category: