Hummingbirds: A Novel

Paperback | April 21, 2016

byJoshua Gaylord

not yet rated|write a review

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." —Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." —Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining—and darkly surprising—relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.99 online
$18.50 list price (save 67%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." —Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls o...

From the Jacket

Hummingbirds is a wonderfully compelling novel about the intertwining and darkly surprising relationships at the elite Carmine-Casey School for Girls on Manhattan's Upper East Side, where the rivalries and secrets of teachers and students intersect and eventually collide.In the world of students, popular Dixie Doyle battles to wrest at...

Joshua Gaylord has taught at an Upper East Side prep school for the past ten years. He also teaches literature and cultural studies as an adjunct professor at the New School. He lives in New York.

other books by Joshua Gaylord

Hummingbirds: A Novel
Hummingbirds: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Oct 6 2009

$11.99

When We Were Animals
When We Were Animals

Hardcover|Apr 21 2015

$29.00

Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:April 21, 2016Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061769029

ISBN - 13:9780061769023

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Hummingbirds: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Keenly plotted and psychologically acute, this novel thrums with deceptions great and small—what we don’t tell each other, and what we won’t admit to ourselves.”