Hummingbirds: A Novel by Joshua Gaylord

Hummingbirds: A Novel

byJoshua Gaylord

Paperback | April 21, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.99 online 
$18.50 list price
Earn 30 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." —Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." —Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining—and darkly surprising—relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.

About The Author

Joshua Gaylord has taught at an Upper East Side prep school for the past ten years. He also teaches literature and cultural studies as an adjunct professor at the New School. He lives in New York.
Hummingbirds: A Novel
Hummingbirds: A Novel

by Joshua Gaylord

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

When We Were Animals
When We Were Animals

by Joshua Gaylord

$26.83$29.00

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Hummingbirds: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:April 21, 2016Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061769029

ISBN - 13:9780061769023

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Hummingbirds: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Keenly plotted and psychologically acute, this novel thrums with deceptions great and small— what we don’t tell each other, and what we won’t admit to ourselves.”