about

An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's bestselling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her in the hospital for nearly a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a serial killer on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers.

Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and a restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty and mysteries of life itself.
MAGGIE O'FARRELL was born in Northern Ireland in 1972 and grew up in Wales and Scotland. She has worked as a waitress, chambermaid, bike messenger, teacher, arts administrator, journalist (in Hong Kong and London), and as the deputy literary editor of The Independent on Sunday. Her books include Hamnet (winner of the National Book Crit...
Loading
Title:I AM I AM I AM: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:304 pages, 8.53 X 5.97 X 1.12 in
Shipping dimensions:304 pages, 8.53 X 5.97 X 1.12 in
Published:January 15, 2020
Publisher:Knopf Canada
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780735274112

Recently Viewed
|