I'll Be Your Blue Sky: A Novel by Marisa De Los SantosI'll Be Your Blue Sky: A Novel by Marisa De Los Santos

I'll Be Your Blue Sky: A Novel

byMarisa De Los Santos

Hardcover | March 6, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.50 online 
$33.50 list price save 32%
Earn 113 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

The New York Times bestselling author revisits the characters from her beloved novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in this captivating, beautifully written drama involving family, friendship, secrets, sacrifice, courage, and true love for fans of Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer.

On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charming—yet overly possessive—fiancé.

Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has died—and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph.

Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary woman—and Blue Sky House no ordinary place. With the help of her mother, Viviana, her surrogate mother, Cornelia Brown, and her former boyfriend and best friend, Dev Tremain, Clare begins to piece together the story of Blue Sky House—a decades-old mystery more complex and tangled than she could have imagined. As she peels back the layers of Edith’s life, Clare discovers a story of dark secrets, passionate love, heartbreaking sacrifice, and incredible courage. She also makes startling discoveries about herself: where she’s come from, where she’s going, and what—and who—she loves.

Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, I’ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los Santos—an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.

Marisa de los Santos is an American author and poet. She was born in Baltimore, Maryland and grew up in Virginia. She earned an English degree from the University of Virginia, as well as an MFA in Poetry from Sarah Lawrence College and a Ph.D in English and Creative Writing from the University of Houston. In addition to her collection ...
Loading
Title:I'll Be Your Blue Sky: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.05 inPublished:March 6, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062431935

ISBN - 13:9780062431936

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Page-Turner A story that just when you think you know all the answers, better guess again, or maybe your right. We walk in two women’s shoes here, and span from the 1950’s to the present and back and forth. Through the author we really get to know Edith and Claire and the beautiful Blue Sky House, and we are left with putting the facts together. Love how the author melds these two strong women’s lives together and our journey to help the less fortunate, and in the end, find happiness themselves. I was actually afraid that Zack would do something to Claire, and I was rooting for Dev, and hope that our girl will keep her senses and really love what Edith does for her. I found this to be a really quick page turner of a read, and will read more by this author. I received this book through Edelweiss and the Published William Marrow, and was not required to give a positive review.
Date published: 2018-03-06

Editorial Reviews

“Breathtaking. These characters are so alive and so complex, you might pass them on the street. Marisa de los Santos infuses their lives with poetry and insight – and does the same for us in the process.”