Ill Wind: Book One Of The Weather Warden by Rachel CaineIll Wind: Book One Of The Weather Warden by Rachel Caine

Ill Wind: Book One Of The Weather Warden

byRachel Caine

Mass Market Paperback | December 2, 2003

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.97

Earn 50 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Someone's finally doing something about the weather...in the first in this series by the New York Times bestselling author of Ink and Bone and the Morganville Vampires series.

It's "A FUN READ" (Jim Butcher) from "A FIRST-CLASS STORYTELLER" (Charlaine Harris)...

The Wardens Association has been around pretty much forever. Some Wardens control Fire, others control Earth or Water or Wind—and the most powerful can control more than one. Without wardens, Mother Nature would wipe humanity off the face of the earth... 
 
Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden. Usually, all it takes is a wave of her hand to tame the most violent weather. But now, Joanne is trying to outrun another kind of storm: accusations of corruption and murder. So, she’s resorting to the very human tactic of running for her life… 
 
Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful warden known. Unfortunately, he’s also on the run from the Council. It seems he’s stolen not one but three bottles of Djinn—making him the most wanted man on earth. And without Lewis, Joanne’s chances of surviving are as good as a snowball in—well, a place she may be headed. So, she and her classic Mustang are racing hard to find him—because there’s some bad weather closing in fast...
 
“[Ill Wind’s] forecast calls for murder, mayhem, magic, meteorology—and a fun read. You’ll never watch the Weather Channel the same way again.”—Jim Butcher, bestselling author of The Dresden Files

Rachel Caine is the author of several bestselling series, including the Revivalist and Outcast Season novels. Among her many popular novels are Daylighters, The Dead Girls' Dance, Terminated, and Black Dawn.
Rachel Caine is the author of more than twenty novels, including the "Weather Warden" series. She was born at White Sands Missile Range, which people who know her say explains a lot. She has been an accountant, a professional musician, and an insurance investigator, and still carries on a secret identity in the corporate world. She and...
Stillhouse Lake
Stillhouse Lake

by Rachel Caine

$14.62$22.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Ink And Bone: The Great Library
Ink And Bone: The Great Library

by Rachel Caine

$13.09$13.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Ash And Quill
Ash And Quill

by Rachel Caine

$22.03$23.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Ill Wind: Book One Of The Weather WardenFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 6.75 × 4.25 × 0.87 inPublished:December 2, 2003Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0451459520

ISBN - 13:9780451459527

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Ill Wind: Book One Of The Weather Warden

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really liked this book! #plumreview
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fun!! (In the event the Chapters/Indigo website elects to delete my rating, I mention here that I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars/leaves.) I really enjoyed this one. Good points: The world building was quite well done. While the idea of people and creatures who control the elements has been done before, this novel took an enjoyable new take on this, including by having the elemental masters be part of a worldwide organization dedicated to protecting the world from natural phenomena (with the majority of humans, who do not have abilities with regards to controlling the elements, not being aware of this). I found the main character to be very likeable and it was easy for me to relate to her. I liked the ethical foundation of her character. I also liked her love interest, who was also a very interesting and fully fledged character one could care about. The plot moved along quite well and the ending in particular was highly exciting, IMHO (I really was NOT expecting the twist at the end which was quite well done). Not so good points/constructive criticism: The only thing I would say here is that, like a lot of novels I have read in the urban fantasy genre, the main characters in this novel essentially found themselves in one crisis after another. I must admist that this is something I have found less enjoyable about this genre, as it is quite exhausting for the reader when there are no quiet moments, little time for character building, and so on. This novel was not the worst I have read in this respect, but I do hope that further novels in this series will have more 'quiet moments', as it were, rather than a constant 'lurching' from one crisis to another, as this also prevents any exploration of character growth and the like. Notwithstanding this criticism, I definitely enjoyed this novel and would recommend it to anyone who likes urban fantasy. I will definitely read the sequel, as well. Other books I recommend: -The Demon In Me, by Michelle Rowen -Firelight, by Kristen Callihan -Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between, by JA Saare
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great new series! What a nice change of pace in reading paranormal/fantasy. This series has nothing to do with vamps, werewolves etc...its about a group of people with powers that can control the weather. They try to keep us safe from floods, hurricanes, fires and all other natural disasters. Joanna is a Weather Warden who gets framed for murder and is now on the run to save her life. It took me a couple chapters to get into it, but after that what a great novel. Lots of action filled with a few big twists at the end, topped off with a little romance and I'll be buying the second in the series "Heat Stroke".
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great start to a new series very interesting twist to the organized society of magic users especially the tie in to weather. I thought the book was well written and the ending was enough of a surprise that did not feel predictable at all. Great mix of action, adventure and a touch of romance. Looking to pick up the rest of the series. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2008-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Start to a New Series (for me, that is) I picked up this book because Jim Butcher recommended it on his web-site. It was every bit as good as he claimed. If you are getting tired of the same old vamp/werewolf/fairy stuff and need a change of pace but want to stay in the "paranormal" range then pick this up. The heroine, Joanna, is a "Weather Warden" a human with the power to control weather. she gets tangled up in a murder and has to make a run for it....there are lots of twists and turns and a surprise that caught me off guard. I am definately ording #2!!!
Date published: 2008-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Non-Stop Action So interesting and different for a supernatural novel. The idea of a whole organization of gifted people controlling the weather is one that leaves you contemplating the concept long after you're done reading. The book did slightly suffer from that whole "protagonist becomes so powerful she could be indestructible" condition, but the action is non-stop and so much fun that you find yourself overlooking it all.
Date published: 2008-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fans of Kim Harrison, MaryJanice Davidson, and Kelley Armstrong will all love Rachel Caine's Weather Wardens series. "Ill Wind" is the first book in the series, in which Joanne, suspected of murder, flees across the country. On her way, the Weather Warden encounters a man named David, who seems normal at first, but turns out to be even more supernatural than Joanne herself. Lots of humour and a little romance mixed in - great writing!
Date published: 2006-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 100% chance of a fun read Jo is a weather warden. Basically, there are folk in the world who are capable of touching - and manipulating - the elements of fire, air, water, and earth. Jo has air and water (which very often go together), and is one of the strongest weather wardens around, as she uses her abilities to calm weather patterns, stop as many storms as possible, that sort of thing. Or at least, she did before all the rest of the Wardens in the world starting hunting her, since she just happened to kill someone and can't quite prove it was, well, self-defense. Sort of. So, Jo is on the run, trying to track down the rarest of the rare, a friend of hers who has access to all four elements (and more importantly, has some spare djinn bottles kicking around, since she also inherited a bit of a terminal problem as well, and it takes a djinn to fix it)... Meanwhile, the storms are chasing her with mindless intent, her own former co-workers and friends are chasing her down, and her car needs more gas. Jo is a superb character - if you love a tough-talking, trash-talking, ne'er do well type with an acid tongue, kick-ass attitude, a lot of magical power, dress sense (think leather and/or Victoria's Secret) and a thing for fast cars. She rocks. I jumped immediately into Heat Stroke at the end of this book because the ending of this book left me rolling. If you liked Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden series, or if you enjoy Anita Blake from Laurell K. Hamilton (but are tired of the over-the-top constant S&M sex that seems to have diluted the story so much lately), this is the book for you.
Date published: 2004-10-29

Editorial Reviews

A fun read. You'll never watch the Weather Channel the same way again. (Jim Butcher, bestselling author of The Dresden Files)